LoL World Championship: Group Stage #1 | Day 1

The LoL Season 4 World Championships is finally here and things kick off this week with the Group Stage #1 held at Taipei, Taiwan. The action starts with Group A and Group B this week and continues with the both remaining groups in the second part of the Group Stage next week. The best two teams from each group will advance to the Quarter-Finals of the tournament. Each group plays a double round robin which means a total of 12 matches per group. All matches of LoL Worlds 2014 will be streamed live and rebroadcasted after the inital stream is over. Bets on the outright winner of the tournament can be placed before the first match of the group stage has started.

LoL World Championship | Group Stage #1 – Day 1:

Betting / LivestreamLoL World Championship 2014 Live Stream Button
Betting Odds Link Button
Special bets Link Button

Schedule and Betting Odds – LoL Worlds 2014 | Group Stage #1 – Day 1

EDward Gaming - LPL Team Logo Edward Gaming vs. Samsung White - OGN Team Logo Samsung Galaxy White (0 : 1)
(Sept 18th, 02:00 PDT/ 05:00 EDT/ 11:00 CEST)

Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid vs. Logo of LCS EU Team SK Gaming SK Gaming (1 : 0)
(Sept 18th, 03:00 PDT/ 06:00 EDT/ 12:00 CEST)

Dark Passage - Russian Team Dark Passage vs. Ahq e-Sports Club - OGN Team Logo Ahq eSports Club (0 : 1)
(Sept 18th, 04:00 PDT/ 07:00 EDT/ 13:00 CEST)

Taipei Assassins - GPL Team Logo Taipei Assassins vs. Royal Club - LPL Team Logo Star Horn Royal Club (0 : 1)
(Sept 18th, 05:00 PDT/ 08:00 EDT/ 14:00 CEST)

Samsung White - OGN Team Logo Samsung Galaxy White vs. Ahq e-Sports Club - OGN Team Logo Ahq eSports Club (1 : 0)
(Sept 18th, 06:00 PDT/ 09:00 EDT/ 15:00 CEST)

Royal Club - LPL Team Logo Star Horn Royal Club vs. Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid (1 : 0)
(Sept 18th, 07:00 PDT/ 10:00 EDT/ 16:00 CEST)

—-> view Group Stage #1 – Day 4

—-> view Group Stage #1 – Day 3

—-> view Group Stage #1 – Day 2

—-> view all upcoming matches with betting odds

Betting Odds Comparison*

To find out more about the eSports betting sites take a look at our review section. Odds may have changed by now – to take a look at the current odds follow the links to the webistes of the bookmakers.

Pinnacle esports betting Logo Pinnacle Sports Pinnacle esports betting Logo

LoL World Championship 2014 - Schedule and Betting Odds Group Stage 1 Day 1 - Pinnacle

Bet365 Logo2 BET365 Bet365 Logo2

LoL World Championship 2014 - Schedule and Betting Odds Group Stage 1 Day 1 - Bet365

BET365 INFO: Find LoL betting in the menu on the left side under: Specials -> World

Bet at Home Logo Bet-at-Home Bet at Home Logo

LoL World Championship 2014 - Schedule and Betting Odds Group Stage 1 Day 1 - Bet at Home

Bet-at-Home INFO: Find LoL betting in the menu on the left side under: all Sports-> E-Sport

Preview and Predictions LoL Worlds Day 1

EDward Gaming - LPL Team Logo Edward Gaming vs. Samsung White - OGN Team Logo Samsung Galaxy White
(Sept 18th, 02:00 PDT/ 05:00 EDT/ 11:00 CEST)

Right off the bat, the audience will be treated to a game of epic proportions as Edward Gaming will face off against Samsung Galaxy White. Both teams are touted as top tier teams and will surely give the audience a hell of a game. This game however, will also be a learning curve for both teams as they will surely feel each other out first before making a big and bold move. Expect White to be more methodical and calculative in this match before they begin to ramp up the kills while expect EDG to throw out as much red herrings as possible in order to cover up their own strategy. EDG knows that White has all the cards in their sleeve and it is a game of cat and mouse for the Chinese and Korean team. Whoever wins this match will send out a message to the rest of the teams that they are not to be treated with simplicity while the losing team will surely lick their wounds and be more careful the next time they meet each other.

Lanes to Watch: Bottom lane. Expect a game of calculations from the bottom lane. Once they have finally guessed the lanes matchup, look out for the explosions to happen as Mata and Fzzf look to engage and disengage for their carries.

Prediction: Can go both ways. It is hard to predict a winner for this matchup as both teams are too good. However, once this match is done the succeeding matches for both teams will be clear enough to predict.

Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid vs. Logo of LCS EU Team SK Gaming SK Gaming
(Sept 18th, 03:00 PDT/ 06:00 EDT/ 12:00 CEST)

This is probably not the first time that both TSM and SK Gaming have met each other in the stage. During Season 2, both teams have met. This time though it looks like TSM has the edge over SK Gaming. Although SK Gaming might have bootcamped in Korea to boost their strategy, but based on their previous matches TSM is far better at both laning phase and teamfighting. TSM will surely need to take down SK Gaming during the early laning phase to bury them alive. If SK Gaming cannot recover from a tight early game, they will surely have a tough time in this game. The only way for SK to avoid the harsh advances of TSM is to lane swaps and if Amazing has learned something from his time in Korea, this is where he will be tested as TSM’s jungler. The early game will play out as a hide and seek for both teams as SK tries to avoid the laning phase while TSM wants to do the regular laning.

Prediction: If TSM can keep SK down during the early laning phase, they have a better chance at winning this game.

Dark Passage - Russian Team Dark Passage vs. Ahq e-Sports Club - OGN Team Logo Ahq eSports Club
(Sept 18th, 04:00 PDT/ 07:00 EDT/ 13:00 CEST)

After two exhilarating games, things tone down a bit as AHQ will take Dark Passage. Dark Passage is on the weaker side of the spectrum as opposed to AHQ although the second best SEA team will surely aim to beat down Dark Passage. AHQ is known to be the bratty stepsister of TPA and will surely look to win this game over Dark Passage.

Prediction: AHQ is far better at the game than Dark Passage.

Taipei Assassins - GPL Team Logo Taipei Assassins vs. Royal Club - LPL Team Logo Star Horn Royal Club
(Sept 18th, 05:00 PDT/ 08:00 EDT/ 14:00 CEST)

The games rev up once more with TPA’s match against Star Horn Royal Club. Right before the games, there has been rumors spreading across the community that Star Horn had an altercation between Insec and Uzi. Whether or not this is true, the team’s morale and synergy will surely be affected. Rumor has it that Insec has been very dominant towards Uzi whose ego needs to be toned down. This issue needs to be put down before the games start or else the team will surely suffer. Trust and rapport is needed within the team now that the Worlds title is at stake. Knowing that Uzi is a great carry at a very young age and Insec provides heavy pressure to lanes all over the map, this issue needs to be put to the grave. Given that they are matched against TPA, a team known for coordination and dominance, SHRC will surely have a hard time.

Prediction: Can go both ways

Samsung White - OGN Team Logo Samsung Galaxy White vs. Ahq e-Sports Club - OGN Team Logo Ahq eSports Club
(Sept 18th, 06:00 PDT/ 09:00 EDT/ 15:00 CEST)

After both teams have faced their first ever opponent, everything will be clear for both White and AHQ. AHQ will have to adapt faster than White as they will be doing the chasing instead of being chased. White is clearly the favorite to win but if AHQ can play more methodical in this match and avoid giving in to pressure, then they can stand a chance to win. Dandy provides good pressure and ganks for the lanes and it will be up to Naz to stop it from happening. Warding is crucial for all lanes in order to stop Dandy from pressuring the map and give them a breathing room for AHQ to play the game well.

Watch out for Dandy to pull off ganks even if he is heavily warded and watch for Pawn and Imp to carry the game once late game arrives.

Prediction: White is the favorite to win this match but do not count AHQ out just yet.

Royal Club - LPL Team Logo Star Horn Royal Club vs. Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid
(Sept 18th, 07:00 PDT/ 10:00 EDT/ 16:00 CEST)

Whether Royal Club loses or not, they will surely have an understanding of how the team will work after their current issue. Royal Club will need to take a breather before this match and fix whatever issues they have from their previous match. Working things out will help the team greatly especially now that they are up against a good team in the form of TSM. TSM will also be able to learn from their previous match and expect them to be more aggressive this time. This will be a battle of aggression and the first one to express any form of weakness will be the one to fall.

Prediction: Royal Club takes the win in this match.

You might also be interested in:

Group Stage #2 – Day 1

League of Legends World Championship 2014 – Overview

League of Legends (LoL) betting

eSports betting tips and predictions

 

*.) Odds may have changed by now – no guarantee! The predictions are the opinion of the author.