Group D | League of Legends Worlds 2016

Group D at LoL Worlds 2016 features the following 4 teams: Team SoloMid, Royal Never Give Up, Samsung and Splyce. Group D of the 2016 League of Legends World Championship is in many respects regarded as the group of death. Team SoloMid from the North American LCS is considered as the brightest star of the Western League of Legends community and a top contester for the championship title. Next on the list there is Royal Never Give Up from the Chinese LPL. AD-Carry Uzi and support Mata are acknowledged to be one of the best – if not the best – botlane in the world. Even the South Korean world champions from season 4, Samsung, managed to rebuild their League of Legends roster and qualify for this year’s tournament. Last but not least there is Splyce from the European LCS completing Group D and hoping for some slip-ups from their opponents. Each team will play a total of 6 games over 4 days, before the top 2 teams advance to the Knockout Stage of the tournament. Samsung and Splyce will play the first game of Group D on Thursday, September 29th, starting off the most exciting group of the World Championship.

Group A | Group B | Group C | Group D

Match Schedule Group D – LoL Worlds 2016

Betting / LivestreamLive Stream Button for League of Legends World Championship 2016
Betting Odds for LoL Worlds 2016Special bets Link ButtonSchedule and Results Group A - LoL Worlds 2016
GROUP D
1.  Team Samsung Logo - LoL Worlds Samsung
5-1
2.  Team RNG Logo - LoL Worlds Royal Never Give Up* 3-3
2.  Team SoloMid Logo - LoL Worlds Team SoloMid 3-3
4.  Team Splyce Logo - LoL Worlds Splyce 1-5
view all Group Standings

*Royal Never Give Up advance past the group stage due to owning the head-to-head tiebreaker vs TSM.

Teams and Players of Group D

Team SoloMid | Group D

Qualified by: Winning the 2016 NA LCS Summer Playoffs.
Team RegionNA LCS Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

Team SoloMid - Team and Players, NA LCS

  • Top: Kevin “Hauntzer” Yarnell
  • Jungle: Dennis “Svenskeren” Johnsen
  • Mid: Søren“Bjergsen” Bjerg
  • ADC: Yiliang (Peter) “DoubleLift” Peng
  • Support: Vincent “Biofrost” Wang

Team SoloMid NA LCS Logo LoLTeam SoloMid have excelled in their region, dropping very few games and showing why they should be considered the undoubted best team in their region at the moment. Their roster took a while to kick in and had a fairly rough spring split, where they ended in 6th before climbing through the spring playoffs. When Summer came around the team really started to thrive, right from the start they were looking like an extremely challenging team to face for every opposition in the region. They only dropped a single game throughout the split and had fantastic performances during the Summer Playoffs as well, where they only dropped another single game! Because of their overall performance this split they’re looking like a great contender for the 2016 World Championship but if history has taught us anything it’s that the undefeated teams often looked stronger because of an overall weaker performing region. There’s no doubt that TSM are the strongest in their region but how well can they do against the best from other regions? Well, with a phenomenal staff behind them and untapped talent on the roster, looking at you Biofrost, they’ve got a lot to achieve. I think they could be the best performing NA team to reach the World Championship but now it’s down to them to prove it.

Royal Never Give Up | Group D

Qualified by: Highest Circuit / Championship Points.
Team Region: LPL Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

Royal Never Give Up LPL Team and Players LoL

  • Top: Jang “Looper” Hyeong-seok
  • Jungle: Liu “Mlxg” Shi-yu
  • Mid: Li “Xiaohu” Yuan-Hao
  • ADC: Jian “Uzi” Zi-Hao
  • Support: Cho “Mata” Se-hyoung

Royal Never Give Up LPL Team Logo LoLRoyal Never Give Up have been a long standing team with a history of strong performances and even have a contention of the World Championship under their belt. They reigned over the mid-season invitational before being quickly shut down by SKTT1 but this could be their chance for redemption. Royal Never Give Up have often been followed by gossip and rumours, they’ve conquered these as they’ve come and quickly silenced those who’ve spoken down on how strong they really are. This was done during the LPL Spring Split when they took down Edward Gaming and came out on top of the Spring Playoffs. The Summer Split was different for them though, they charged through the summer split with relative ease and only took 3 losses throughout; when it came to the playoffs things changed for them though. During the playoffs they had to play through and win 2 series’, their 1st series was expected to be a fairly confident win for them but once it extended to 5 games things started to get worrying. They eventually made it to the finals where they would face Edward Gaming, they were unable to take them down and hardly managed to put up a fight during the series. This was the most worrying performance they could have had, they’ve ended up at the World Championship and a lot of fans in the region are doubting RNG’s skill. RNG have always silenced, they have always put on performances of a life-time when it’s needed and I expect nothing but the best from them. They’re from one of the most formidable regions in the world and have years of experience to guide them through the group stage. If they’re not in 1st then expect them to be 2nd and ready to perform during the knockout stage.

Samsung | Group D

Qualified by: Winning the 2016 LCK Regional Qualifiers.
Team Region: LCK Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

Samsung Team and Players LKC

  • Top: Lee “CuVee” Seong-Jin
  • Jungle: Kang “Ambition” Chan-yong
  • Mid: Lee “Crown” Min-ho
  • ADC: Park “Ruler” Jae-hyuk
  • Support: Kwon “Wraith” Ji-min

Samsung Galaxy LCK Team Logo LoLSamsung are certainly in a difficult position, in comparison to the other teams that qualified from their region they’re looking like a definite weak link. They did make sudden improvements after the LCK summer split ended and that allowed to them swiftly take down KT Rolster, who were widely considered a favourite team to qualify, but there’s still trouble looming. Samsung were regularly ending in 4th position and even ended in 6th during the Spring Split, not only does this show how much they’ve managed to improve but it also shows a weakness in the team. Samsung were holding on for dear life during the split but luckily they were holding onto the 2nd seed, this let them place higher right from the get-go. This gave them a bit more time to prepare and also gave them more information on their opponents; they still looked a little rough against Afreeca Freecs but managed to take the series on the 4th game. Heading into the finals is where things got surprising, they managed to face off against KT Rolster and lead them into a game 5; things continue to interest as they made KT dramatically fall and Samsung took a pretty dominating victory to earn their position at the World Championship. They’re not looking like the weakest team in the group but they’re not a convincing top team either, they’re going to need to really step up if they want to take even the 2nd seed out of the group.

Splyce | Group D

Qualified by: Winning the EU LCS Regional Qualifiers Tournament.
Team Region: EU LCS Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

Splyce - Team and Players, EU LCS

  • Top: Martin “Wunder” Hansen
  • Jungle: Jonas “Trashy” Anderson
  • Mid: Chres “Sencux” Laursen
  • ADC: Kasper “Kobbe” Kobberup
  • Support: Mihael “Mikyx” Mehle

Splyce EU LCS Team Logo LoLSplyce are possibly one of the most underestimated teams attending the World Championship and it’s quite upsetting. They were a strong 2nd place EU LCS team that only dropped 3 series’ during the entirety of the EU LCS Summer Split. They came in 2nd place during the Summer Playoffs after a slightly disappointing series against G2 Esports but with their 1st seed in the EU LCS Regional Qualifiers tournament they were finally given an opportunity to prove how good they really are. They managed to take down the dramatically improved Unicorns of Love, who previously 3:0d Fnatic and Giants, to take their place at the World Championship. The real question is, why are people underestimating them so much? There’s plenty of evidence to back up how strong this team is performing and they’ve even been doing well during their boot-camp. They’ve been a relatively ignored team but that’s not always a bad thing, Origen were relatively ignored during the 2015 World Championship but they put on phenomenal performances; Splyce could pull off something similar but they’ve been placed in a group that will really test them.

Prediction

Team Solo Mid will be looking to contest the 1st seed but Royal Never Give Up is also looking like a great contender for it. I expect both of these teams to end in the top 2 after the group stage with Splyce following behind in 3rd and then Samsung; the bottom 2 positions will be fought over passionately as both of the possible contending teams will be trying to reach higher but will be stopped by the wall that is TSM and RNG.

  • 1: Team Solo Mid
  • 2: Royal Never Give Up
  • 3: Splyce
  • 4: Samsung

Group D Match Schedule and Results

Group Stage #1 – Day 1 – Thursday, September 29th 

Match #1: Team Samsung Logo - LoL Worlds Samsung vs. Team Splyce Logo - LoL Worlds Splyce     1   0  
Start Time: September 29th, 08:30 PM PDT / 11:30 PM EDT / 05:30 CEST (next day)

Match #1: Team SoloMid Logo - LoL Worlds Team SoloMid vs. Team RNG Logo - LoL Worlds Royal Never Give Up      0   1  
Start Time: September 30th, 09:30 PM PDT / 12:30 AM EDT (next day) / 06:30 CEST (next day)

Group Stage #1 – Day 2 – Friday, September 30th 

Match #1: Team SoloMid Logo - LoL Worlds Team SoloMid vs. Team Samsung Logo - LoL Worlds Samsung     1   0  
Start Time: September 30th, 06:00 PM PDT / 09:00 PM EDT / 03:00 CEST (next day)

Match #2: Team RNG Logo - LoL Worlds Royal Never Give Up vs. Team Splyce Logo - LoL Worlds Splyce     1   0  
Start Time: September 30th, 07:00 PM PDT / 10:00 PM EDT / 04:00 CEST (next day)

Group Stage #1 – Day 3 – Saturday, October 1st 

Match #1: Team Splyce Logo - LoL Worlds Splyce vs. Team SoloMid Logo - LoL Worlds Team SoloMid      0   1  
Start Time: October 1st, 08:00 PM PDT / 11:00 PM EDT / 05:00 CEST (next day)

Match #2: Team RNG Logo - LoL Worlds Royal Never Give Up vs. Team Samsung Logo - LoL Worlds Samsung      0   1  
Start Time: October 2nd, 09:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM EDT (next day) / 06:00 CEST (next day)

Group Stage #2 – Day 7 – Saturday, October 8th 

Match #1: Team Samsung Logo - LoL Worlds Samsung vs. Team SoloMid Logo - LoL Worlds Team SoloMid     1   0  
Start Time: October 8th, 01:00 PM PDT / 04:00 PM EDT / 22:00 CEST 

Match #2: Team Splyce Logo - LoL Worlds Splyce vs. Team RNG Logo - LoL Worlds Royal Never Give Up     1   0  
Start Time: October 8th, 02:00 PM PDT / 05:00 PM EDT / 23:00 CEST

Match #3: Team SoloMid Logo - LoL Worlds Team SoloMid vs. Team Splyce Logo - LoL Worlds Splyce     1   0  
Start Time: October 8th, 03:00 PM PDT / 06:00 PM EDT / 00:00 CEST (next day)

Match #4: Team Samsung Logo - LoL Worlds Samsung vs. Team RNG Logo - LoL Worlds Royal Never Give Up     1   0  
Start Time: October 8th, 04:00 PM PDT / 07:00 PM EDT / 01:00 CEST (next day)

Match #5: Team Splyce Logo - LoL Worlds Splyce vs. Team Samsung Logo - LoL Worlds Samsung      0   1  
Start Time: October 8th, 05:00 PM PDT / 08:00 PM EDT / 02:00 CEST (next day)

Match #6: Team RNG Logo - LoL Worlds Royal Never Give Up vs. Team SoloMid Logo - LoL Worlds Team SoloMid     1   0  
Start Time: October 8th, 06:00 PM PDT / 09:00 PM EDT  / 03:00 CEST (next day)

Infographic – Teams and Player Group D – LoL Worlds 2016

Infographic Group D LoL Worlds 2016