Group C | League of Legends Worlds 2016

Group C at LoL Worlds 2016 features the following 4 teams: Edward Gaming, AHQ e-Sports Club, H2K and INTZ e-Sports. Alongside the South Korean powerhouses the Chinese team Edward Gaming is the biggest contester for winning the whole tournament. Although creeping into the 2015 World Championships quarter finals, the ahq e-Sports Club from Taiwan seems weaker than past years. FORG1VEN is wearing the jersey of H2K in his first attendance at the World Championship and is dedicated to make the European region great again. INTZ e-Sports from Brasil rounds off Group C but the players from the International Wildcard Invitational qualifier are likely to go on homeward journey after the group stage games. Each team will play a total of 6 games over 4 days, before the top 2 teams advance to the Knockout Stage of the 2016 LoL World Championship. H2K and the ahq e-Sports Club will play the first game of Group C on Thursday, September 29th, starting off the maybe weakest group of the tournament.

Group A | Group B | Group C | Group D

Match Schedule Group C – LoL Worlds 2016

Betting / LivestreamLive Stream Button for League of Legends World Championship 2016
Betting Odds for LoL Worlds 2016Special bets Link ButtonSchedule and Results Group A - LoL Worlds 2016
GROUP C
1.  Team H2k Logo - LoL Worlds H2K
5-2
2.  Team Edward Gaming Logo - LoL Worlds Edward Gaming 4-3
3.  Team AHQ e-sports club Logo - LoL Worlds AHQ e-Sports Club 3-3
4.  Team Intz Logo - LoL Worlds INTZ e-Sports 1-5
view all Group Standings

Teams and Players of Group C

Edward Gaming | Group C

Qualified by: Winning the 2016 LPL Summer Playoffs.
Team RegionLPL Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

Edward Gaming LPL Team and Players LoL

  • Top: Chen “Mouse” Yu-hao
  • Jungle: Ming “ClearLove” Kai
  • Mid: Lee “Scout” Ye-chan
  • ADC: Kim “Deft” Hyuk-kyu
  • Support: Tian “Meiko” Ye

EDward Gaming LPL Team Logo LoLEdward gaming was regularly battling it out with RNG for 1st place, this conflict has been a regular occurrence over the course of the past year and after taking 2nd place during the spring split they worked hard to make improvements. Those improvements quickly propelled them into a dominating position as they had a phenomenal 16:0 split and then took down RNG 3:0. Edward Gaming are looking like the team to beat in this group and seeing as they’ve hardly been losing in their own region they’re certainly going to be feared. The introduction of their new middle laner “Scout” and a few changes to the organisation really gave this team what it needed to thrive, a bit of practice and breathing room has this team turning into clear winners but heading to the World Championship is more of a challenge than a lot of people expect. With experience under their belt on the Worlds Stage they should have some levels of comfort but when striving to be the best there are always a few errors. Edward Gaming will need to keep close tabs on their opponents and make sure they’re adapting. They’re certainly one of my favourites this year.

AHQ E-Sports Club | Group C

Qualified by: Winning the 2016 LMS Regional Qualifiers Tournament.
Team Region: LMS Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

ahq e-Sports Cluba LMS Team and Players LoL

  • Top: Chen “Ziv” Yi
  • Jungle: Hsue “Mountain” Chao-Hong
  • Mid: Liu “Westdoor” Shu-Wei
  • ADC: Chou “An” Chun-An
  • Support: Kang “Albis” Chia-Wei

ahq e-Sports Club LMS Team Logo LoLAHQ had a fairly hard time this past season and were unable to accomplish great amounts but when the opportunity arose for them to take their ticket they finally managed to pull it off. They were unable to take the 1st position at all throughout the year but during the Regional Qualifiers tournament they managed to hold the 1st seed, this means they were placed against the 4th seed and they quickly worked their way into the finals. They ended up powering through the LMS Regional Qualifiers tournament without losing a single game and they finally got to show some of their strengths. It looks as if AHQ could have a hard time in this group, with the likes of Edward Gaming and even H2k being present, but they’ve previously shown that they’ve got what it takes to make outstanding plays and to do what’s needed to push forward. I think AHQ are going to show some great improvements heading onto the Worlds stage but they’ve got a lot to watch out for.

H2k Gaming | Group C

Qualified by: Highest Circuit / Championship Points.
Team Region: EU LCS Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

H2K Gaming - Team and Players, EU LCS

  • Top: Andrei “Odoamne” Pascu
  • Jungle: Marcin “Jankos” Jankowski
  • Mid: Ryu “Ryu” Sang-ook
  • ADC: Konstantinos “FORG1VEN” Tzortziou
  • Support: Oskar “VandeR” Bogdan

Team Logo H2K Gaming EU LCS 2017H2k Gaming have definitely hit an extremely rough patch, their more recent performances weren’t exactly bad but they’ve been lacklustre. Over the course of the year they were stuck in a bit of a rut. Sure, they managed to take 2nd during the spring split but after a string of 4th place finishes they were looking troubled. The EU LCS Summer Playoffs was their last opportunity and the dreams of multiple players on this team were on the line, they needed things to fall into place and then they needed to take the 3rd place. If things went jagged even slightly then they’d have missed their opportunity, luckily for them everything turned out okay; they took 3rd place and qualified through championship points. This brings into question though, just how well can they perform against the best teams from regions spread all around the globe? They were having trouble against local teams, now they’re facing the best. My hopes aren’t too high for H2k but they’ve got some serious drive and passion that shouldn’t be underestimated, if any team can make vast improvements in a short space of time it’s H2k.

INTZ E-Sports | Group C

Qualified By: Winning the International WildCard Qualifiers Tournament.
Team Region: Wildcard Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

INTZ e-Sports Team and Players WildCard

  • Top: Felipe “Yang” Zhao
  • Jungle: Gabriel “Revolta” Henud
  • Mid: Gabriel “Tockers” Claumann
  • ADC: Micael “micaO” Rodrigues
  • Support: Luan “Jockster” Cardoso

Team INTZ e-Sports Logo - LoL WorldsINTZ are possibly the best performing WildCard team to ever qualify for the World Championship. This is apparent from not only their recent performances; they’ve had high quality performances for the majority of the year with their worst performances being at the International WildCard invitational half way through the season. During the second half of the season ITZ managed to keep up with the pace of their regional teams and stayed on top for the most part, they were challenged throughout the Stage 2 Playoffs where they had to beat PaiN Gaming, who attended the 2015 World Championship, and follow it up by taking down their regional leader, CNB E-Sports Club. They managed to do all of this and even came out on top with some breaking room, at least that’s what it looked like when they took the final playoff series on the 4th game. Heading into the International WildCard Qualifiers tournament Dark Passage was their team to beat. Dark Passage was a favourite to qualify as they’ve had a strong season and is a consistent team; this was quickly broken as ITZ took the 5th game and punched their Worlds ticket. ITZ are a strong performing team, they have good team fighting and their macro management could be considered LCS level, which is definitely a compliment to their ‘minor’ region. They’ve got the skill and potential to be a great challenge in the group stage for a few teams but they’ve been placed in an extremely difficult group.

Prediction

Edward Gaming are looking like a confident 1st seed choice, they’ve had a great season and are continuing to pressure top positions in their region with great consistency. This leaves the 2nd seed open to be contest by both AHQ and H2k however with how unstable H2k and AHQ have been looking I think that both of these teams could drop a few more games than expected. This leaves ITZ to pick up the scraps and could give them an opportunity to push forward.

  • 1: Edward Gaming
  • 2: H2k
  • 3: AHQ E-Sports Club
  • 4: INTZ E-Sports

Group C Match Schedule and Results

Group Stage #1 – Day 1 – Thursday, September 29th 

Match #1: Team H2k Logo - LoL Worlds H2K vs. Team AHQ e-sports club Logo - LoL Worlds ahq e-Sports Club     0   1  
Start Time: September 29th, 06:30 PM PDT / 09:30 PM EDT / 03:30 CEST (next day)

Match #2: Team Intz Logo - LoL Worlds INTZ e-Sports vs. Team Edward Gaming Logo - LoL Worlds Edward Gaming     1   0  
Start Time: September 29th, 07:30 PM PDT / 10:30 PM EDT / 04:30 CEST (next day)

Group Stage #1 – Day 2 – Friday, September 30th 

Match #1: Team H2k Logo - LoL Worlds H2K vs. Team Intz Logo - LoL Worlds INTZ e-Sports     1   0  
Start Time: September 30th, 08:00 PM PDT / 11:00 PM EDT / 05:00 CEST (next day)

Match #2: Team Edward Gaming Logo - LoL Worlds Edward Gaming vs. Team AHQ e-sports club Logo - LoL Worlds ahq e-Sports Club     1   0  
Start Time: October 1st, 09:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM EDT (next day) / 06:00 CEST (next day)

 Group Stage #1 – Day 3 – Sunday, October 2nd 

Match #1: Team AHQ e-sports club Logo - LoL Worlds ahq e-Sports Club vs. Team Intz Logo - LoL Worlds INTZ e-Sports     1   0  
Start Time: October 2nd, 04:00 PM PDT / 07:00 PM EDT / 01:00 CEST (next day)

Match #2: Team Edward Gaming Logo - LoL Worlds Edward Gaming vs. Team H2k Logo - LoL Worlds H2K     1   0  
Start Time: October 2nd, 05:00 PM PDT / 08:00 PM EDT / 02:00 CEST (next day)

 Group Stage #2 – Day 4 – Friday, October 7th 

Match #1: Team Edward Gaming Logo - LoL Worlds Edward Gaming vs. Team Intz Logo - LoL Worlds INTZ e-Sports     1   0  
Start Time: October 7th, 04:00 PM PDT / 07:00 PM EDT / 01:00 CEST (next day)

Match #2: Team AHQ e-sports club Logo - LoL Worlds ahq e-Sports Club vs. Team H2k Logo - LoL Worlds H2K     0   1  
Start Time: October 7th, 05:00 PM PDT / 08:00 PM EDT / 02:00 CEST (next day)

Match #3: Team H2k Logo - LoL Worlds H2K vs. Team Edward Gaming Logo - LoL Worlds Edward Gaming     1   0  
Start Time: October 7th, 06:00 PM PDT / 09:00 PM EDT / 03:00 CEST (next day)

Match #4: Team Intz Logo - LoL Worlds INTZ e-Sports vs. Team AHQ e-sports club Logo - LoL Worlds ahq e-Sports Club     0   1  
Start Time: October 7th, 07:00 PM PDT / 10:00 PM EDT / 04:00 CEST (next day)

Match #5: Team Intz Logo - LoL Worlds INTZ e-Sports vs. Team H2k Logo - LoL Worlds H2K     0   1  
Start Time: October 7th, 08:00 PM PDT / 11:00 PM EDT / 05:00 CEST (next day)

Match #6: Team AHQ e-sports club Logo - LoL Worlds ahq e-Sports Club vs. Team Edward Gaming Logo - LoL Worlds Edward Gaming     0   1  
Start Time: October 8th, 09:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM EDT (next day) / 06:00 CEST (next day)

Tie-breaker: Team H2k Logo - LoL Worlds H2K vs. Team Edward Gaming Logo - LoL Worlds Edward Gaming     1   0  
Start Time: October 8th, 10:00 PM PDT / 02:00 AM EDT (next day) / 07:00 CEST (next day)

Infographic – Teams and Player Group C – LoL Worlds 2016

Infographic Group C LoL Worlds 2016