Group A | League of Legends Worlds 2016

Group A at LoL Worlds 2016 features the following 4 teams: Rox Tigers, G2 Esports, Counter Logic Gaming and Albus NoX LunaWhile the South Korean Rox Tigers definitely rank among the best teams in the world and will most likely take the first seed in Group A, the struggle for the second playoff spot will be an inconvenience to G2 Esports from Europe and Counter Logic Gaming from the North American region. I don’t want to abate Albus NoX Luna’s hope of advancing to the quarter finals, but without considerable international experience the Russian qualifier from the International Wildcard Invitational tournament will most likely end up taking last place in this group. Each team will play a total of 6 games over 4 days, before the top 2 teams advance to the Knockout Stage of the League of Legends World Championship 2016. G2 Esports and Counter Logic Gaming will play the first game of Group A on Thursday, September 29th, starting off the whole tournament with a hopefully exciting match on Summoner’s Rift.

Group A | Group B | Group C | Group D

Match Schedule Group A – LoL Worlds 2016

Betting / LivestreamLive Stream Button for League of Legends World Championship 2016
Betting Odds for LoL Worlds 2016Special bets Link ButtonSchedule and Results Group A - LoL Worlds 2016
GROUP A
1. Team Rox Tigers Logo - LoL Worlds Rox Tigers
5-2
2. Team Albus Logo - LoL Worlds Albus NoX Luna
4-3
3. Team CLG Logo - LoL Worlds Counter Logic G. 3-3
4. Team G2 esports Logo - LoL Worlds G2 Esports 1-5
view all Group Standings

Teams and Players of Group A

Rox Tigers | Group A

Qualified by: Winning the 2016 LCK Summer Playoffs.
Team Region: LCK Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

ROX Tigers Team and Players LCK

  • Top: Song “Smeb” Kyung-ho
  • Jungle: Han “Peanut” Wang-ho
  • Mid: Lee “KurO” Seo-haeng
  • ADC: Kim “PraY” Jong-in
  • Support: Kang “GorillA” Beom-hyeon

ROX Tigers LCK Team Logo LoLRox Tigers are a current favourite as the top contender of the group. They’ve proven over the course of the season that they are a force to be reckoned with in their region. Coming in from the LCK this team will be highly feared as they have shown formidable skill in both their macro management and their micro mechanics. With precise team fighting and phenomenal objective control the Rox Tigers have their eyes on the top position of their group but conquering G2 Esports is likely to be their biggest challenge. Rox Tigers should be confident in knowing that they are the assumed strongest team in their group and they’re going to look to take advantage of this, if they’re able to hold back on their strongest picks and strategies on their way out of the group stage, which they’re extremely likely to make it out of as a top seed, then they’ll have even more to push for and to push with once they make it to the knockout stage. They managed to put on phenomenal performances during the 2015 World Championship but this time they’ll be looking to take the tournament.

G2 Esports | Group A

Qualified by: Winning the EU LCS 2016 Summer Playoffs.
Team Region: EU LCS Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

G2 Esports - Team and Players, EU LCS

  • Top: Dae-han “Expect” Ki
  • Jungle: Kim “Trick” Kang Yoon
  • Mid: Luka “PerkZ” Perkovic
  • ADC: Jesper “Zven” Svenningsen
  • Support: Alfonso “Mithy” Aguirre Rodriguez

G2 Esports - EU LCS team LogoG2 Esports have a bad history with other regions so far, after their horrendous and error filled performances during the Mid-Season Invitational. If they’ve cracked down on their holiday ways and have focused on improving their strategies then they’re a compelling team to take a top position in this group. G2 Esports have had a strong showing this year, they’ve taken the 1st position across all of the EU LCS tournaments that they’ve participated in. The most troubling part for them is that their performances against international teams have been lacking, this became apparent when they were only able to push for 5th place during the Mid-Season Invitational. G2 Esports will need to crack down on their early game control, this is often where things get out of hand for them and their confidence can be shattered quickly, this leads to them falling behind drastically. If they can keep level headed and work at the same speed as their opponents then there will be very few obstacles holding them back. G2 Esports will want to prove to the world that the team that had shown up during the Mid-season invitational is more ready than ever to compete on the Worlds stage.

Counter Logic Gaming | Group A

Qualified by: Highest Circuit / Championship Points.
Team RegionNA LCS Teams at LoL Worlds 2016
Roster:

Counter Logic Gaming - Team and Players NA LCS LoL

  • Top: Darshan “Darshan” Upadhyaha
  • Jungle: Jake “Xmithie” Puchero
  • Mid: Choi “HuHi” Jae-hyun
  • ADC: Trevor “Stixxay” Hayes
  • Support: Zaqueri “Aphromoo” Black

Counter Logic Gaming NA LCS Team Logo LoLCounter Logic Gaming have whispers following them, they qualified for the 2016 World Championship even though they were having weaker performances. This was because of their overall performances throughout the year. They’ve certainly got diversity and have always maintained a high level of macro management but they often fall off or out of place when competing against fast paced or international teams. If Counter Logic Gaming is looking to make it out of this group stage then they’re going to have needed to have made a few changes. CLG are far from the worst team competing in this group and they have the potential to push for a top seed in this group but It won’t come easy, there is a big rivalry between the 2 teams representing Europe and North America and this will be one of the biggest challenges that Counter Logic Gaming will have to face. After their fairly weak performances at the end of the summer split, where they were trying to push for a stronger seed, they drastically fell but had shown some great potential in their strategies. If they’ve practiced and refined these, along with working to push for a mastery of the League of Legends patch surrounding the 2016 World Championship, they might be able to make their push now to get out of the group stage; this will give them the opportunity they want to prove themselves to the world after so many years.

Albus NoX Luna | Group A

Qualified by: Finishing in the top 2 of the International Wild Card Qualifiers Tournament.
Team Region: Wildcard Teams at LoL Worlds 2016.
Roster:

Albus Nox Luna Team and Players WildCard

  • Top: Dmitry “Smurf” Ivanov
  • Jungle: Alexander “PvPStejos” Glazkov
  • Mid: Michael “Kira” Garmash
  • ADC: Vladislav “aMiracle” Scherbyna
  • Support: Kirill “Likkrit” Malofeev

Team Albus Nox Luna Logo - LoL WorldsNot many Wild Card teams can make it this far and it’s already a huge achievement for Albus Nox Luna, this won’t stop them from pushing further though. Ever since the formation of Hard Random, the original ANX team, they’ve been a top contender in every single tournament they’ve attended. They had to overcome quite an obstacle to make it this far and they’ll be looking to break records during the 2016 World Championships. Wild Card teams have a history of bad performances, usually because their regional skill level is lower than that of the major regions. This didn’t stop PaiN Gaming from taking some victories during 2015 though and it certainly won’t stop Albus Nox Luna! ANX have proven on a regular basis that they can innovate, they can create opportunities and they can control a lead. They’ve shown that they have both the passion and the drive to improve at an exceptional rate and they’re going to be ready for this tournament. The only real question is if they’ve had enough time to get the scoop on what to expect from their opponents, this will be key information once the games roll around and it could quickly crumble the opportunities for ANX if they’re not careful!

Prediction:

I have no doubt about how well the Rox Tigers will be performing, I think they’re the strongest contender to take the no.1 seed from group a but they’re going to run into issues against G2 Esports. G2 are a likely 2nd seed team but with how much drive CLG have they’ll be looking to contest it. NOX might be left a little in the dust here and they’ve huge steps to make if they’re looking to make it out of the group stage.

  • 1: Rox Tigers
  • 2: G2 Esports
  • 3: Counter Logic Gaming
  • 4: Albus Nox Luna

Group A Match Schedule and Results

Group Stage #1 – Day 1 – Thursday, September 29th

Match #1: Team G2 esports Logo - LoL Worlds G2 Esports vs. Team CLG Logo - LoL Worlds Counter Logic Gaming     0   1  
Start Time: September 29th, 04:30 PM PDT / 07:30 PM EDT / 01:30 CEST (next day)

Match #2: Team Rox Tigers Logo - LoL Worlds ROX Tigers vs. Team Albus Logo - LoL Worlds Albus NoX Luna     1   0  
Start Time: September 29th, 05:30 PM PDT / 08:30 PM EDT / 02:30 CEST (next day)

Group Stage #1 – Day 2 – Saturday, October 1st

Match #1: Team CLG Logo - LoL Worlds Counter Logic Gaming vs. Team Albus Logo - LoL Worlds Albus NoX Luna     0   1  
Start Time: October 1st, 04:00 PM PDT / 07:00 PM EDT / 01:00 CEST (next day)

Match #2: Team Rox Tigers Logo - LoL Worlds ROX Tigers vs. Team G2 esports Logo - LoL Worlds G2 Esports     1   0  
Start Time: October 1st, 05:00 PM PDT / 08:00 PM EDT / 02:00 CEST (next day)

Group Stage #1 – Day 3 – Sunday, October 2nd

Match #1: Team Albus Logo - LoL Worlds Albus NoX Luna vs. Team G2 esports Logo - LoL Worlds G2 Esports     1   0  
Start Time: October 2nd, 06:00 PM PDT / 09:00 PM EDT / 03:00 CEST (next day)

Match #2: Team CLG Logo - LoL Worlds Counter Logic Gaming vs. Team Rox Tigers Logo - LoL Worlds ROX Tigers     1   0  
Start Time: October 2nd, 07:00 PM PDT / 10:00 PM EDT / 04:00 CEST (next day)

Group Stage #2 – Day 4 – Thursday, October 6th

Match #1: Team G2 esports Logo - LoL Worlds G2 Esports vs. Team Rox Tigers Logo - LoL Worlds ROX Tigers     0   1  
Start Time: October 6th, 04:00 PM PDT / 07:00 PM EDT / 01:00 CEST (next day)

Match #2: Team Albus Logo - LoL Worlds Albus NoX Luna vs. Team CLG Logo - LoL Worlds Counter Logic Gaming     1   0  
Start Time: October 6th, 05:00 PM PDT / 08:00 PM EDT / 02:00 CEST (next day)

Match #3: Team CLG Logo - LoL Worlds Counter Logic Gaming vs. Team G2 esports Logo - LoL Worlds G2 Esports     1   0  
Start Time: October 6th, 06:00 PM PDT / 09:00 PM EDT / 03:00 CEST (next day)

Match #4: Team Albus Logo - LoL Worlds Albus NoX Luna vs. Team Rox Tigers Logo - LoL Worlds ROX Tigers     1   0  
Start Time: October 6th, 07:00 PM PDT / 10:00 PM EDT / 04:00 CEST (next day)

Match #5: Team G2 esports Logo - LoL Worlds G2 Esports vs. Team Albus Logo - LoL Worlds Albus NoX Luna     1   0  
Start Time: October 6th, 08:00 PM PDT / 11:00 PM EDT / 05:00 CEST (next day)

Match #6: Team Rox Tigers Logo - LoL Worlds ROX Tigers vs. Team CLG Logo - LoL Worlds Counter Logic Gaming     1   0  
Start Time: October 7th, 09:00 PM PDT / 12:00 AM EDT (next day) / 06:00 CEST (next day)

Match #7: Team Rox Tigers Logo - LoL Worlds ROX Tigers vs. Team Albus Logo - LoL Worlds Albus NoX Luna     1   0  
Start Time: October 6th, 10:00 PM PDT / 02:00 AM EDT (next day) / 07:00 CEST (next day)

Infographic – Teams and Player Group A – LoL Worlds 2016

Infographic Group A LoL Worlds 2016