International Wildcard Qualifiers | LoL Worlds 2015

The International Wildcard Qualifiers (IWC) give two teams from outside the 5 permanent leagues the unique opportunity to join the best players under the spotlight in the greatest tournament of the year – the League of Legends World Championship. There is lots of fame and glory to be won (aside from a substantial monetary profit), so you can be sure that each and every player will be giving their best. The Wildcard teams will perhaps give even more. Both teams that qualify for Worlds through the International Wildcard Qualifiers will have a lot to prove, because they come from regions where League of Legends (and eSports, as a whole) aren’t as major. This means a weaker infrastructure, worse organization, and more challenges to players. Most of their competitors will not take them as seriously (which might work in their advantage), so they have a lot to prove, despite the fact that simply qualifying puts them on the same stage as the rest of the teams that reached Worlds through the major leagues.

>>> view all WildCard (IWCQ) teams at the 2016 LoL World Championship

Betting / LivestreamLive Stream Button for International Wildcard Qualifiers - LoL World Championship 2015
Betting Odds Link Button
Special bets Link Button

There are two tournaments that will determine the International Wildcard entries to Worlds – Desafio Internacional and International Wildcard Turkey. The winners of the tournaments get a ticket to Worlds so they can prove what they’re made of on the International stage. You can find more information about the format of the tournaments, dates, teams, and more below.

IWC #1 International Wildcard Turkey

  • Dates: 08/26/2015 – 08/29/2015 (Postponed for 1 day)
  • Group Stage 08/26/2015 – 08/27/2015
  • Start Time Group Stage:
    02:00 AM PDT/ 05:00 AM EDT/ 11:00 AM CEST / 18:00 KST
  • Finals: 08/29/2015
  • Start Time Finals:
    06:00 AM PDT/ 09:00 AM EDT/ 15:00 CEST / 22:00 KST
  • Format: Double Round Robin group stage and a best of 5 Final
  • 4 teams from Japan, Oceania, Southeast Asia, and Turkey
  • Winner gets a ticket to 2015 League of Legends World Championship
  • English Live stream for all matches
  • Betting Odds for all matches available

IWC #2 Desafio Internacional (Brazil / Chile)

  • Dates:  08/29/2015 – 09/05/2015.
  • Group Stage: 08/29/2015 – 08/30/2015
  • Start time Group Stage:
    09:00 AM PDT/ 12:00 AM EDT/ 18:00 CEST / 01:00 KST (next day)
  • Finals: 09/05/2015
  • Format: Double Round Robin group stage and a best of 5 Final
  • 3 teams from Brazil, CIS, and Latin America
  • Winner gets a ticket to 2015 League of Legends World Championship
  • Group Stage location: Riot’s studio in Sao Paulo, Brazil.
  • Final location: Santiago, Chile
  • Portuguese and Spanish Live stream for all matches
  • Betting Odds for all matches available

Upcoming matches and betting odds

[sportbet league=”9496″]

Start Time: GMT
Betting Odds presented by Pinnacle Sports. Read more about esports betting at Pinnacle or  find out more about betting on league of legends

Format and schedule

The format of both tournaments is one and the same and is pretty simple. All teams participate in a group stage with a double Round Robin format, meaning that they will play each other twice. In the end, the two teams that perform the best will face each other in the Finals, in order to determine which of them will go to Worlds and which of them will go home.

important-signal-icon The IWC Turkey has been postponed due to technical problems. The competition has been resumed on 08/27/2015 | 02:00 AM PDT/ 05:00 AM EDT/ 11:00 AM CEST / 18:00 KST with day one! Day 2 of the Group Stage is scheduled to start on Friday at 00:00 AM PDT/ 03:00 AM EDT/ 09:00 AM CEST / 16:00 KST

Group Stage Day 1 – IWC Turkey – Schedule and Results

Match #1Chief eSports Club - LoL Team Logo Chiefs eSports Club vs. Bangkok Titans- LoL team Logo Bangkok Titans   1  0  
Match #2Dark Passage - LoL team Logo Dark Passage vs. Detonation Focusme - LoL Team Logo DetionatioN FocusMe   1  0  
Match #3: Detonation Focusme - LoL Team Logo DetionatioN FocusMe vs. Chief eSports Club - LoL Team Logo Chiefs eSports Club   1  0  
Match #4: Bangkok Titans- LoL team Logo Bangkok Titans vs. Dark Passage - LoL team Logo Dark Passage   1  0  
Match #5Chief eSports Club - LoL Team Logo Chiefs eSports Club vs. Dark Passage - LoL team Logo Dark Passage   1  0  
Match #6: Detonation Focusme - LoL Team Logo DetionatioN FocusMe vs. Bangkok Titans- LoL team Logo Bangkok Titans   1  0  

Group Stage Day 2 – IWC Turkey – Schedule and Results

Match #1: Detonation Focusme - LoL Team Logo DetionatioN FocusMe vs. Dark Passage - LoL team Logo Dark Passage   0   1  
Match #2: Bangkok Titans- LoL team Logo Bangkok Titans vs. Chief eSports Club - LoL Team Logo Chiefs eSports Club   0   1  
Match #3: Dark Passage - LoL team Logo Dark Passage vs. Bangkok Titans- LoL team Logo Bangkok Titans   0   1  
Match #4Chief eSports Club - LoL Team Logo Chiefs eSports Club vs. Detonation Focusme - LoL Team Logo DetionatioN FocusMe   1   0  
Match #5: Dark Passage - LoL team Logo Dark Passage vs. Chief eSports Club - LoL Team Logo Chiefs eSports Club   1   0  
Match #6: Bangkok Titans- LoL team Logo Bangkok Titans vs. Detonation Focusme - LoL Team Logo DetionatioN FocusMe   1   0  

Grand Finals – IWC Turkey – Schedule and Results

Grand Final (best of 5): Chief eSports Club - LoL Team LogoChiefs eSports Club vs. Bangkok Titans- LoL team Logo Bangkok Titans   1  3  
Date: 08/29/2015 Start Time: 06:00 AM PDT/ 09:00 AM EDT/ 15:00 CEST / 22:00 KST

Group Stage Day 1 – IWC Desafio Internacional – Schedule and Results

Match #1Hard Random - LoL Team Logo Hard Random vs. paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming   0   1  
Match #2Hard Random - LoL Team Logo Hard Random vs. Kaos Lating Gamers - LoL Team Logo Kaos Latin Gamers   1   0  
Match #3: paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming vs. Kaos Lating Gamers - LoL Team Logo Kaos Latin Gamers   1   0  

Group Stage Day 2 – IWC Desafio Internacional – Schedule and Results

Match #1Kaos Lating Gamers - LoL Team Logo Kaos Latin Gamers vs. paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming   0   1  
Match #2: Kaos Lating Gamers - LoL Team Logo Kaos Latin Gamers vs. Hard Random - LoL Team Logo Hard Random   1   0  
Match #3: paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming vs. Hard Random - LoL Team Logo Hard Random   1   0  

Group Stage TiebreakerHard Random - LoL Team Logo Hard Random vs. Kaos Lating Gamers - LoL Team Logo Kaos Latin Gamers   0   1  

Grand Finals – IWC Desafio Internacional – Schedule

Grand Final (best of 5): paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming vs. Kaos Lating Gamers - LoL Team Logo Kaos Latin Gamers   3 
Date: 09/05/2015 Start Time: 11:00 AM PDT/ 14:00 AM EDT/ 20:00 CEST / 03:00 KST (next day)

The Group stage of the Wildcard qualifier tournament in Brazil / Chile (The Desafio Internacional) is running from Saturday 08/29/2015 to Sunday 08/30/2015. The first match on both days starts at aprox. 09:00 AM PDT/ 12:00 AM EDT/ 18:00 CEST / 01:00 KST (next day).

Teams Overview

The teams that will participate in both tournaments have already proven themselves as being worthy for a shot to Worlds. When we talk about Desafio Internacional, paiN Gaming have won the 2015 CBLoL Winter, Hard Random have won the SLTV Star Series 2015 Summer, and Kaos Latin Gamers have won the 2015 Latin America Closing Cup.

Things aren’t too different in the International Wildcard Turkey. DetonatioN FocusMe won Japan’s LJL Season 2 Grand Final, the Chiefs eSports Club won the OPL Split 2, Dark Passage won the 2015 TCL Summer, and Bangkok Titans won the 2015 SEA Regional Finals. These are all impressive feats, despite the fact that the competitive scene is not as developed in these regions as in the five main regions.

Desafio Internacional – Teams

  • pain gaming - IWC Brazil paiN Gaming – Brazil
  • hard random - IWC Brazil Hard Random – CIS
  • kaos latin gamers - IWC Brazil Kaos Latin Gamers – Latin America

International Wildcard Turkey – Teams

  • detonation focusme - IWC Turkey Detionation FocusMe – Japan
  • chiefs esports club - IWC Turkey Chiefs eSports Club – Oceania
  • dark passage - IWC Turkey Dark Passage – Turkey
  • bangkok titans - IWC Turkey Bangkok Titans – Southeast Asia

We expect to see nothing less than 100% from each and every player on all these teams. We’re sure that whoever will wins will represent their respective regions with pride.

Live Stream

The matches of the Wild Card Qualifiers in Turkey are broadcasted in English on the official live stream of Riot Games. The matches of the second Worlds Qualifier in Chile / Brazil are only available in Spanish and Portuguese. You can watch the matches on the live stream right here on this page. Just click play when the action has started! To find out about start times, please take a look at the schedule above!

Live Stream IWC Turkey 2015

Live Stream IWC Desafio Internacional

You know who will win?

You migth also be interested in:

Worlds Qualifiers and qualified teams

Format and Stages of LoL Worlds explained

Schedule of the LoL World Championship 2015

LoL Worlds Live Stream

About the Author: Aman El TawilAmna El Tawil is a news reporter and a technology blogger. For the past five years, she has worked for major publications and TV networks in the Middle East, covering one of region’s hotspots. When Amna is not chasing after the truth amidst gas canisters, she can be found cheering her favorite football team on, or unwinding with some online gaming.