Group D | League of Legends World Championship 2015

Group D at the League of Legends World Championship 2015 features the following teams: LGD Gaming, KT Rolster, Origen and Team SoloMid. The 4 LoL teams in Group D come from the followig leagues and regions: LGD Gaming – LPL (China), KT Rolster – LCK (South Korea), Origen – EU LCS (Europe) and Team SoloMid – NA LCS (North America). Each team has to play a total of 6 matches, before the top 2 teams at the end of the Group Stage advance to the Knockout Stage of the 2015 League of Legends World Championship. The first round of Group D is played on October 2nd, 3rd, and 4th. The second round is all played on the final day of Group D: October 10th 2015.

Click here for:

LoL Worlds 2015 Group Stage and Group Standings

Full schedule LoL World Championship 2015

Quarter-Finals > Semi-Finals > Finals

Group A | Group B | Group C | Group D

Match Schedule Group D | Results

Betting / LivestreamLive Stream Button for League of Legends World Championship 2015
Upcoming Matches with betting Odds Button for League of Legends World Championship 2015
GROUP D – Standings
1. KT Rolster - LCK Team Logo KT Rolster
5
2. Origen - EU LCS Team Logo Origen
4
3. LGD Gaming - LPL Team Logo LGD Gaming
2
4. Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid 1
view all Group Standings

Past Matches and Results:

KT Rolster won Group D giving only one point away to Origen. Origen qualified as second seed for the quarterfinals of the World Championship. TSM and LGD Gaming were eliminated from the tournament.

Group D – Final Day – Saturday- October, 10th:

Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid vs. Origen - EU LCS Team Logo Origen    0  1  
(Oct. 10th, 03:00 PDT/ 06:00 EDT/ 12:00 CEST/ 19:00 KST)

KT Rolster - LCK Team Logo KT Rolster vs. LGD Gaming - LPL Team Logo LGD Gaming    1  0  
(Oct. 10th, 04:00 PDT/ 07:00 EDT/ 13:00 CEST/ 20:00 KST)

Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid vs. KT Rolster - LCK Team Logo KT Rolster    0  1  
(Oct. 10th, 05:00 PDT/ 08:00 EDT/ 14:00 CEST/ 21:00 KST)

Origen - EU LCS Team Logo Origen vs. LGD Gaming - LPL Team Logo LGD Gaming    0  1  
(Oct. 10th, 06:00 PDT/ 09:00 EDT/ 15:00 CEST/ 22:00 KST)

Origen - EU LCS Team Logo Origen vs. KT Rolster - LCK Team Logo KT Rolster    0  1  
(Oct. 10th, 07:00 PDT/ 10:00 EDT/ 16:00 CEST/ 23:00 KST)

LGD Gaming - LPL Team Logo LGD Gaming vs. Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid    1  0  
(Oct. 10th, 08:00 PDT/ 11:00 EDT/ 17:00 CEST/ 24:00 KST)

>>>  Final Day Group D – Preview and Predictions

>>>  view full Group Stage Schedule

Group D – Day 1 – Friday – October, 2nd:

KT Rolster - LCK Team Logo KT Rolster vs. Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid    1  0  
(Oct. 2nd, 07:00 PDT/ 10:00 EDT/ 16:00 CEST/ 23:00 KST)

LGD Gaming - LPL Team Logo LGD Gaming vs. Origen - EU LCS Team Logo Origen    0  1  
(Oct. 2nd, 08:00 PDT/ 11:00 EDT/ 17:00 CEST/ 24:00 KST)

>> Worlds – Day 2 – All Results

Group D – Day 2 – Saturday – October, 3rd:

LGD Gaming - LPL Team Logo LGD Gaming vs. KT Rolster - LCK Team Logo KT Rolster    0  1  
(Oct. 3rd, 07:00 PDT/ 10:00 EDT/ 16:00 CEST/ 23:00 KST)

Origen - EU LCS Team Logo Origen vs. Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid    1  0  
(Oct. 3rd, 08:00 PDT/ 11:00 EDT/ 17:00 CEST/ 24:00 KST)

>> Worlds Day 3 – All Results

Group D – Day 3 –  Sunday – October, 4th:

Logo of LCS NA Team TSM Team SoloMid vs. LGD Gaming - LPL Team Logo LGD Gaming    1  0  
(Oct. 4th, 05:00 PDT/ 08:00 EDT/ 14:00 CEST/ 21:00 KST)

KT Rolster - LCK Team Logo KT Rolster vs. Origen - EU LCS Team Logo Origen    0  1  
(Oct. 4th, 06:00 PDT/ 09:00 EDT/ 15:00 CEST/ 22:00 KST)

>> Worlds Day 4 – All Results

You know who will win?

Wanna take a look at the curret odds?
Check out the upcoming matches and betting odds overview

Teams Group D | LoL Worlds 2015

Group D consist of first seed placer LGD and the rest are second seed placers KT Rolster, TSM, and EU LCS Seed #3, Origen. While other groups have a more balanced mix of stronger and weaker teams, this group is most likely the bloodiest of all the groups. Frankly – this might be the most unpredictable group that the Worlds Stage has ever produced.

LGD Gaming - LPL Team LGD Gamnig | LPL (China)

  • Winner LPL Summer Playoffs
  • LGD Gaming current Roster:
    • Top Lane: Cheon-ju “Acorn” Choi | South Korea
    • Jungle: Zhu “TBQ” Yong Quan | China
    • Mid Lane: Wei “GODV” Zhen | China
    • Marksman (ADC): Seung-bin “imp” Gu | South Korea
    • Support: Chen “Pyl” Bo | China
    • Top Lane (Sub): Ho-jonh “Flame” Lee | South Korea
  • read more about LGD Gaming

LGD had the same problems as with any other Chinese teams that acquired Koreans in their squad during the Spring Split of the LPL. Communication was a big barrier to the team. Imp and Acorn were the only Koreans to join the team at the time and they had a hard time synergizing with the aggression that the Chinese are clearly known for. In the end, it did not bode well for the team as they suffered against teams like OMG and Snake. When the Spring Split rolled in, something happened along the way. The team was able to focus on how they are able to communicate their strategies well even with the language barrier during the heat of battle. However, a new bump in the road happened as their support player was out of the tournament for quite a while. Pyl soon returned to the team and it was then that the team soared to greater heights and started toppling their rivals like OMG. It was then that they were able to face EDG in the Semifinals that they have proved to be a powerhouse Chinese team when they defeated the fan favorite team and went on to win the Summer Split Finals. It was a hard road for LGD and it will be hard road once more in the Group Stage as they face teams like Origen and KT Rolster that are bound to have a few surprises when they get to meet them in the Summoner’s Rift. Will LGD be able to deflect all those surprise strategies or will they fold over? LGD is known to be innovative with their picks. Acorn surprised everyone by picking Fiora at the top lane and destroyed his opponent and took over the game to a victory. Some might think that it was a cheese strategy for Acorn but it soon started a trend that Fiora is a must ban against him. This is the time for LGD to prove that they are indeed the masters of innovation and surprise everyone with cheese picks that actually work well against the current meta.

KT Rolster - LCK Team Logo KT Rolster| LCK (South Korea)

  • Winner LCK Regionals
  • KT Rolster current Roster:
    • Top Lane: Chan-ho “ssumday” Kim | South Korea
    • Jungle: Dong-bin “Score” Go | South Korea
    • Mid Lane: Sang-moon “Nagne” Kim | South Korea
    • Marksman (ADC): Dong-hyeon “Arrow” No | South Korea
    • Support: Jong-beom “Piccaboo” Lee | South Korea
    • Support (Sub): Jae-woo “Fixer” Jeong | South Korea
  • read more about KT Rolster

After getting to the finals in the LCK for over three years, KT Rolster has finally made it to the Worlds Stage. Years ago, the team would be one of the most ideal teams to make it to the Worlds Stage due to their lineup and their talent but it seems that the a little team called SK Telecom was far better hence they were the ones sent to Worlds. This time seems to be the right time for KT Rolster to grace the Worlds Stage and show the world what the team is made of. Even though they have lost some of their star players in Kakao and Rookie, the team has acquire some of the better players from other teams. During the Spring Split, the team suffered a menacing defeat when they landed on the fifth place but little do they know that they would find a resurgence when the Summer Split hit. With the addition of Piccaboo during the Summer Split, their star support player was the key they needed to get back in to their groove and finally be able to face SKT in the Summer Finals. However, destiny was harsh for them as they fell 0-3 to the dominating team. Although they were at a disadvantage, the team qualified for the Regionals and made sure that they had a ticket to Worlds. This time, they were able to defeat the teams that were on their way and destroyed Jin Air in the Regional Qualifiers. While some might think that KT Rolster is a weaker version of SKT, it is wise not to disregard this team as they have been one of the more silent but deadly teams to face in the Summoner’s Rift. Look out for Piccaboo to be the aggressive player in the team.

TSM - NA LCS Team Logo Team SoloMid | NA LCS (North America)

  • Most Championship Points NA LCS Season 5 |2015
  • Team SoloMid current Roster:
    • Top Lane: Marcus “Dyrus Hill | USA
    • Jungle: Lucas “Santorin” Larsen | Denmark
    • Mid Lane: Søren “Bjergsen” Bjerg | Denmark
    • Marksman (ADC): Jason “Wild Turtle” Tran | Canada
    • Support: Ham “Lustboy” Jang-sik | South Korea
    • read more about Team SoloMid

TSM is one trick pony. TSM has always been about Bjergsen and no one else. Some might attribute WildTurtle and Lustboy to be the carries of the team but it is actually Bjergsen who carries the team on his back. This solid yet well-telegraphed strategy is a double-edge sword for the team. One might rely heavily on Bjergsen to bring out the big guns but if you have a team that has only one strategy in mind every game, chances are, teams will surely have a counter to what you have in mind. This was what happened during the Finals of the NA LCS where CLG swept the series 3-0 against TSM. They knew that by banning out and focusing on Bjergsen in the midlane, TSM would falter. This provided Doublelift and a hard carry Zionspartan at top to lead the team to victory while Pobelter held Bjergsen in the midlane and controlled him for the rest of the series. However, it was only CLG that was able to see through the strategy at that point in the split. If TSM continues to do this strategy on the Worlds Stage, chances are they will most likely hold the same position as they had in previous Worlds.

Origen - LCS Team Logo Origen | EU LCS (Europe)

  • Winner EU LCS Regional Qualifiers
  • Origen current Roster:
    • Top Lane: Paul “sOAZ” Boyer | France
    • Jungle: Maurice “Amazing” Stückenschneider | Germany
    • Mid: Enrique “xPeke” Cedeño Martínez | Spain
    • Marksman (ADC): Jesper “Niels” Svenningsen | Denmark
    • Support: Alfonso “Mithy” Aquirre Rodriguez | Spain
    • read more about Origen

The former players from Fnatic left the organization and created a team of their own during the Spring Split. Origen then qualified for the Summer Split and proved to everyone that it was not the organization that created the team but it was the players. xPeke and company albeit without Yellowstar and Rekkles proved that they are still capable players in the EU LCS. Origen came out strong during the Summer Split by destroying teams like Roccat and Elements but it was not enough for them to get the top spot from Fnatic where they suffered heavy defeats as with any other European team. When the finals rolled in, it was Origen that finally made a dent in Fnatic’s shining armor of victories as they were able to scratch at least a few victories against the powerhouse team. Origen might want to replay those games over and over to check what they need to do in order to win games against teams like LGD and KT Rolster in this group. While some might think Origen would not make it out of Worlds, it is already a given that they will surely bring out the big guns and give a good fight to stay alive in the Group Stage to make it to the Quarterfinals.

Preview – Predictions LoL Worlds Group D

  1. LGD – Clearly the best of the pack, LGD has better skills, talent, synergy, and organization than any other teams in this group. Acorn can innovate and still carry the game unlike any other top laner in this group while their bottom lane is a dangerous duo to leave farming. LGD will surely make it out of the group stage and join EDG in the Quarterfinals.
  2. KT Rolster/Origen – It can go either way for KT and Origen. Both teams have suffered a few loses here and there and they might need to review those games to spot their weakness but overall, both teams can stand on their own they go toe to toe with some of the best teams all over the World.
  3. TSM – By simply have one strategy in mind, TSM can expect to be plundered and violated in this Group if they are not willing to shake up their strategy for Worlds.

Farley OngAbout the Author:
Predictions by Farley „fawli86“ Ong, long-time LoL fan from the Philippines. Contact Farley on Google+!