Group A | League of Legends World Championship 2015

Group A at LoL Worlds 2015 features the following 4 teams: Counter Logic Gaming, Flash Wolves, Koo Tigers and paiN Gaming. The teams in Group A come from the followig leagues and regions: CLG – NA LCS (North America), Flash Wolves – LMS (South East Asia), Koo Tigers – LCK (South Korea) and paiN Gaming from Brazil, who won the IWC qualifer in Chile. Each team plays a total of 6 matches, before the top 2 teams at the end of the Group Stage advance to the Knockout Stage of the 2015 League of Legends World Championship. Group A is playing the first round on October 1st, 2nd and 4th – the second round is played on October 8th.

Click here for:

LoL Worlds 2015 Group Stage and Group Standings

Full schedule LoL World Championship 2015

Quarter-Finals > Semi-Finals > Finals

Group A | Group B | Group C | Group D

Match Schedule Group A | Results

Betting / LivestreamLive Stream Button for League of Legends World Championship 2015
Upcoming Matches with betting Odds Button for League of Legends World Championship 2015
GROUP A – Standings
1. Flash Wolves - LMS Team Logo Flash Wolves
4
2. KOO Tigers - LCK Team Logo Koo Tigers
4
3/4 Logo of LCS NA Team CLG Counter Logic Gaming 2
4/4 paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming 2
 view all Group Standings

Past Matches and Results

Flash Wolves won Group A because of the 2:0 head to head record against Koo Tigers. CLG and paiN Gaming are tied for last place – no decider match is played in this case.

Group A – Final Day – Thursday – October, 8th:

Logo of LCS NA Team CLG Counter Logic Gaming vs. KOO Tigers - LCK Team Logo Koo Tigers    0  1  
(Oct. 8th, 05:00 PDT/ 08:00 EDT/ 14:00 CEST/ 21:00 KST)

Flash Wolves - LMS Team Logo Flash Wolves vs. paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming    1  0   
(Oct. 8th, 06:00 PDT/ 09:00 EDT/ 15:00 CEST/ 22:00 KST)

KOO Tigers - LCK Team Logo Koo Tigers vs. paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming    1  0   
(Oct. 8th, 07:00 PDT/ 10:00 EDT/ 16:00 CEST/ 23:00 KST)

Flash Wolves - LMS Team Logo Flash Wolves vs. Logo of LCS NA Team CLG Counter Logic Gaming    1  0   
(Oct. 8th, 08:00 PDT/ 11:00 EDT/ 17:00 CEST/ 24:00 KST)

KOO Tigers - LCK Team Logo Koo Tigers vs. Flash Wolves - LMS Team Logo Flash Wolves    0  1  
(Oct. 8th, 09:00 PDT/ 12:00 EDT/ 18:00 CEST/ 01:00 KST)

paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming vs. Logo of LCS NA Team CLG Counter Logic Gaming    1  0   
(Oct. 8th, 10:00 PDT/ 13:00 EDT/ 19:00 CEST/ 02:00 KST)

>>>  Final Day Group A – results and odds comparison

 >>>  view full Group Stage Schedule

Group A – Day 1 – Thursday – October, 1st:

Logo of LCS NA Team CLG Counter Logic Gaming vs. Flash Wolves - LMS Team Logo Flash Wolves    1  0  
(Oct. 1st, 11:30 PDT/ 14:30 EDT/ 20:30 CEST/ 03:30 KST)

paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming vs. KOO Tigers - LCK Team Logo Koo Tigers    0  1  
(Oct. 1st, 12:30 PDT/ 15:30 EDT/ 21:30 CEST/ 04:30 KST)

>> Worlds – Day 1 – all Results

Group A – Day 2 – Friday – October, 2nd:

Flash Wolves - LMS Team Logo Flash Wolves vs. KOO Tigers - LCK Team Logo Koo Tigers    1  0  
(Oct. 2nd, 11:00 PDT/ 14:00 EDT/ 20:00 CEST/ 03:00 KST)

Logo of LCS NA Team CLG Counter Logic Gaming vs. paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming    1  0  
(Oct. 2nd, 12:00 PDT/ 15:00 EDT/ 21:00 CEST/ 04:00 KST)

>> Worlds  – Day 2 – all Results

Group A – Day 3 – Sunday – October, 4th:

KOO Tigers - LCK Team Logo Koo Tigers vs. Logo of LCS NA Team CLG Counter Logic Gaming    1  0  
(Oct. 4th, 09:00 PDT/ 12:00 EDT/ 18:00 CEST/ 01:00 KST)

paiN GAMING - LoL Team Logo paiN Gaming vs. Flash Wolves - LMS Team Logo Flash Wolves    1  0  
(Oct. 4th, 10:00 PDT/ 13:00 EDT/ 19:00 CEST/ 02:00 KST)

>> Worlds Day 4 – all Results

You know who will win?

Wanna take a look at the curret odds?
Check out the upcoming matches and betting odds overview

Teams Group A | LoL Worlds 2015

We will be discussing who has the best chances of winning their matches and get out of the Group Stage to be held starting on October 1st. We’ll start off with Group A. The four teams under Group A include Counter Logic Gaming – CLG from the North American LCS, KOO Tigers from LCK in South Korea, Flash Wolves, and Pain Gaming from the International Wildcard Tournament.

Logo of LCS NA Team CLG Counter Logic Gaming | NA LCS (North America)

  • Winner NA LCS Summer Playoffs 2015
  • Counter Logic Gaming current Roster:
    • Top Lane: Darshan “ZionSpartan” Upadhyaha | USA
    • Jungle: Jae-Hyun “HuHi” Choi | South Korea (replacing: Xmithie)
    • Mid Lane: Eugene “Pobelter” Park | USA
    • Marksman (ADC): Yiliang “Doublelift” Peng | USA
    • Support: Zaqueri “Aphromoo” Black | USA
    • read more about Counter Logic Gaming

After years and years of trying to make it to the World Stage, Doublelift and company have finally made it. This marks the first time CLG takes the World Stage after spending several seasons fighting and battling it out with the best North American team there is in the NA LCS. After coming out strong in the Spring split, CLG had nothing to lose when the Summer Split rolled in. With a new jungler in Xmithie in their hands, CLG had a very strong outing in the Summer Split. CLG’s hopes in coming to Worlds came to fruition once they acquired a support team that handled their daily issues and now they can focus on honing their specific tasks in playing the game. This overall provided a great improvement for the team. It was pretty obvious that the addition of Zionspartan and Pobelter helped a lot but the team synergized together with the help of each other.

But, success comes with a price. Recently, Xmithie was forced out of the team due to visa issues and now, the team might not be able to cope with him. Enter HuHi. The Korean jungler has scrimmed with the team for almost six months now and is most likely to improve the overall standings of the team. However, Xmithie and HuHi’s playstyle have been different. Xmithie prefers the vision game especially early in the game due to the fact that they need all laners to farm gold uninterrupted that will result to a good teamfight with the help of the item advantage. HuHi, on the other hand, is a more aggressive jungler. Ganking left and right, he can boost the team’s laners through kills and funnel gold but this is a double edge sword especially if there are communication lapses inside the team. Hopefully, CLG will be able to solidify this issue before they hit the Worlds Stage.

yoe Flash Wolves - LMS Team Logo Flash Wolves | LMS (Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau)

  • Winner LMS Regional Qualifiers
  • Flash Wolves current Roster:
    • Top Lane: Chou “Steak” Lu-Hsi | Taiwan
    • Jungle: Hung “Karsa” Hau-Hsuan | Taiwan
    • Mid Lane: Huang “Maple” Yi-Tang | Taiwan
    • Marksman (ADC): Hsiung “NL” Wen-An | Taiwan
    • Support: Hu “SwordArt” Shuo-Jie | Taiwan
    • Sub Mid Lane: Lihong “MMD” Yu | Taiwan
    • Sub Marksman: Jong-Hoon “Kkramer” Ha | South Korea
  • read more about the Flash Wolves

The Flash Wolves are mostly composed of former Gamania Bears team members. With that, it only goes to show that they have indeed the ability to get to Worlds. Getting there is not the problem but staying is another topic for debate. Flash Wolves are known to be the best team in the LMS but then lost to AHQ during the Playoffs. After breaking off from the GPL, the LMS revived the fire to win their spot and get back to Worlds. As their region is open to both the Chinese and Korean servers, the team has a lot of time to practice and face different play styles from different teams on different region. This is the only advantage that they have and it is up to them on what they will be doing with such advantage. Some teams tend to fly over to Korea to boot camp and it takes time before the teams can settle whereas for the Flash Wolves, there is no need for them to do so and they can sit and play against the best teams in the world without leaving the comforts of their gaming houses. Some might think that this is a great advantage but what the team does with this will determine their performance in the Worlds Stage. Will the Flash Wolves come back strong after the embarrassing showing of Gamania Bears from the previous Worlds?

Koo Tigers - LCK Team Logo Koo Tiger | LCK (South Korea)

  • Most Circuit Points LCK Season 5 | 2015
  • Koo Tigers current Roster:
    • Top Lane: Kyung-ho “Smeb” Song | South Korea
    • Jungle: Ho-jin “Lee” Lee | South Korea
    • Mid Lane: Seo-haeng “Kuro” Lee | South Korea
    • Marksman (ADC): Jong-in “PraY” Kim | South Korea
    • Support: Beom-Hyeon “Gorilla” Kang | South Korea
    • Sub Jungle: Tae-wan “Wisdom” Kim | South Korea
  • read more about Koo Tigers

The KOO Tigers are the misfits of the Korean scene. They are heavily favored to come out of the Worlds Stage swinging due to their heavy reliance on macroplay. With this, they will surely be trying to get ahead of the game at all times with objective control and map pressure in order to beat the other teams with the one and only strategy they have. With that, all the other teams in this group do not have such strategy and if they do, they are not as flawless as the KOO Tigers when it comes to executing this strategy. The KOO Tigers know that they are the team to beat in this group and they will surely make it out of the Groups Stage no matter what. The only thing that will pull them down is if they are unable to adapt to the new patch with a few of their champions getting hit by the nerf bat. Smeb’s Viktor has been stomped out of midlane and his Azir has never been reliable. With a limited amount of champions in his grasp, KOO Tigers are at a disadvantage. But, with a month without any information regarding their play, it is pretty sure that these innovators will find another way to surprise their enemies with formidable champions that are keen on playing around the map.

pain gaming - IWC Brazil paiN Gaming | IWC Chile/Brazil (Brazil)

  • Winner: Wildcard Qualifier Chile/Brazil
  • paiN Gaming current Roster:
    • Top Lane: Matheus “Mylon” Borges | Brazil
    • Jungle: Thúlio “SirT” Carlos | Brazil
    • Mid Lane: Gabriel “Kami” Santos | Brazil
    • Marksman (ADC): Felipe “brTT” Gonçalves | Brazil
    • Support: Hugo “Dioud” Padioleau | France

Pain Gaming has come a long way since their debut right around 2012. With the Brazilian scene scorching hot in the region, they are bound to the Worlds Stage no matter what. This has been the best the team has shown ever since its inception and with good reason. The team has finally found their footing after all these years. With those experiences on international tournaments, results are bound to happen. Pain Gaming has sharpened up their skills. This is the strongest team that came out of the Wildcard Tournament and will most likely provide a few roadblocks and hijinks to the other teams along the way. However, winning or even getting out of the Group Stage is difficult for the team as all the other three teams are bound to step all over them. Indeed, Pain Gaming has come a long way but it won’t be enough for them to make it out of the Group Stage. There is a sliver of chance for the team to get the second spot but that is if all the other three teams are not playing well.

Preview – Predictions LoL Worlds Group A

There is no doubt that KOO Tigers will swiftly take the top spot in this Group but it will be an uphill battle for Pain Gaming to even get the second spot. As for CLG and Flash Wolves, it will be a true test of how they carry themselves as a team in landing that coveted second spot.

My predictions:

  1. KOO Tigers
  2. Flash Wolves
  3. CLG
  4. Pain Gaming

Farley OngAbout the Author:
Predictions by Farley „fawli86“ Ong, long-time LoL fan from the Philippines. Contact Farley on Google+!