TI7 Main Event Day 1 – Predicitions & Betting Tips

The Main Event of The International 2017 in Dota 2 ist starting soon and with the completed group stages we also know the first matchups. There were quite a few surprises along the way. Both LGD teams dominated and have managed to get into the upper bracket. It seems the Chinese Dota 2 scene is really strong again this year. Four teams in LGD Gaming, LGD.Forever Young, Newbee and Invictus Gaming managed to place in the top 4 of both groups. So it might not be a surprise if the winner of TI7 also stems from China. The other four teams are Team Liquid, Evil Geniuses, TNC Pro Team and Virtus.pro. All those teams start in the upper bracket. The rest goes to the lower bracket, where one loss can mean the end of the tournament for the team. This is the advantage of the upper bracket, as with one loss the team “only” falls to the lower bracket. We already have two teams to say good bye to for this TI: Fnatic and HellRaisers. They were last in their respective groups. Fnatic was a really disappointing case, as many people thought they would go further in the tournament. They only managed to win 2 of 16 maps in the group stage. Let’s look at the matchups of the first day in more detail. All games in the upper bracket are best-of-three, so are the lower brackets ones except for the first round which is a best-of-one. If you are interested in wagering take a look on the TI 7 betting site.

Dota 2 Icon Predictions – TI7 Main Event Day 1 – Upper Bracket

UB Quarter-finals #1: Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Team Liquid vs. Invictus Gaming Invictus Gaming Dota 2 Team Logo

August 7th, 2017: 10:00 AM PDT / 01:00 PM EDT / 19:00 CEST

The main event starts with the match between Team Liquid and Invictus Gaming. Already a high class game, since especcially Team Liquid managed to convince in the group stage and was first place in group A. They looked incredibly strong in a few wins and one could almost see the future winner of TI7 playing. No matter which strategy they played, the whole team was incredibly well practiced and each member was seemingly comfortable in the different expectations of their roles. They meet Invictus Gaming, who slowly starts to show signs of their domination earlier this year. Before TI7 there was a huge question mark above IG’s head, as the new patch didn’t seem to favor them and they lost their dominating status. They had to adapt to the new strategies, and it seems they did as they have shown signs of life in the group stages. Nonetheless, Team Liquid looks like the stronger team between those two and are going in as favorites.
Prediction: Team Liquid wins the match. Result: 2:1.

UB Quarter-finals #2: Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee vs. Evil Genius Team Logo Dota 2 Evil Geniuses

August 7th, 2017: 01:00 PM PDT / 04:00 PM EDT / 22:00 CEST

Another highlight of the day is starting just after the first game. Newbee against Evil Geniuses. Both teams have the same record in their respective groups: 11 wins and 5 losses. This promises a very exciting game. There is no real favorite in this match. Prior to TI7, EG was one of the favorites to win it, but Newbee managed to impress in their games. No matter if they came back through a massive comeback to win the game or if they played out an advantage to their win, they seem to be comfortable in a whole host of situations. They seem to always do the right steps to win their games. EG on the other hand is the titan of the USA. As with every year for TI, EG is also looking very strong recently. They had a few mishaps in the group stages which cost them wins. But they will make sure this doesn’t happen again in their real tournament games. There is no real favorite in this matchup and the game will be really close.
Prediction: EG wins the match. Result: 1:2.

You know who will win?

188bet banner

Dota 2 Icon Predictions – TI7 Main Event Day 1 – Lower Bracket

Match #1: Team Secret Logo Dota 2 Team Secret vs. Execration Execration Dota 2 Team Logo

August 7th, 2017: 04:00 PM PDT / 07:00 PM EDT / 01:00 CEST (the next day)

The first round of the lower bracket is played in a best-of-one format, this means anything and everything can happen. Favorites don’t really matter in this format, as the huge problem with it is that teams can not adjust to their opponent and so called “cheese”, a strategy which often works only once and looks quite “cheap”, is incredibly strong. Team Secret disappointed a bit in the group stages and it seemed they were not all on the same page. Execration on the other hand managed to win 5 maps of their 16. This might not seem like an accomplishment, but remember this is Execration’s first big offline event and they are playing against world class teams at TI. The SEA team brings their own approach to the game and it could overwhelm Team Secret and eliminate them from TI7.
Prediction: Team Secret wins the match. Result: 1:0.

Match #2: Cloud9 Team Logo dota2 Cloud9 vs. Team Empire Team Empire Logo Dota2

August 7th, 2017: 05:00 PM PDT / 08:00 PM EDT / 02:00 CEST (the next day)

Cloud9 against Team Empire is the next match. Cloud9 was disappointing on the first days in the group stage and they found themselves almost being last. As the group stage progressed, Cloud9 seemed to find more form and thus managed to move on from last place. Cloud9 is one the most nerve-racking teams to support, because even with a huge gold and experience advantage one can’t be sure that they can close out the game. Also the opposite is true, Cloud9 had a few games in the group stage which they managed to win after having a huge disadvantage early in the game. One can never be sure what to expect from Cloud9. Team Empire on the other hand managed to exceed expectations and had the same record as Cloud9: 6 wins, 11 losses. This is already an achievement for Team Empire, as their carry player Chappie did not get his visa to the USA and was replaced last minute by Resolut1on. A change of players just before an event is happening is almost the death sentence for their tournament lives. Not so Team Empire, who looked like they have played with their replacement all along. There is no real favorite in this match and it can swing either way.
Prediction: Cloud9 wins the match. Result: 1:0.

Match #3: OG RedBull Dota2 Logo Esports OG vs. Infamous Infamous dota2 logo

August 7th, 2017: 06:00 PM PDT / 09:00 PM EDT / 03:00 CEST (the next day)

This might be the most unbalanced matchup on this day. At least on paper. Don’t forget this is a best-of-one and anything can happen. Four times Major champion OG is going up against Infamous, a South American team at their first big tournament. OG has disappointed in the group stages and they only managed to get into the lower bracket. But this seems to strengthen OG, as some of their biggest wins came from a road through the lower bracket. A loss would mean the tournament end, and it looks like OG needs this pressure to play their best. Infamous on the other hand didn’t manage to turn any heads, but they did play a respectable group stage. It will be interesting to see if TI7 has a repeat of the Kiev Major, as another South American team in SG-esports managed to go quite far. The requirements would be there and in a best-of-one anything can happen. Nonetheless, OG is going into this matchup as huge favorites.
Prediction: OG wins the match. Result: 1:0.

Match #4: Invictus Gaming Vitality Dota 2 Team Logo IG.Vitality vs. Digital Chaos Digital Chaos Dota 2 Team Logo

August 7th, 2017: 07:00 PM PDT / 10:00 PM EDT / 04:00 CEST (the next day)

The last game of the day is iG.Vitality against Digital Chaos. iG.Vitality was the only Chinese team not to get an upper bracket slot and they only managed to win 7 maps of 16. This is quite a disappointment, especcially if you consider iG.Vitality had to go through the Chinese qualifiers. The Chinese qualifiers are the hardest ones to get through as the density of really good teams is incredibly high. Now they are looking to stay in the tournament for longer. And a win against Digital Chaos would secure them at least day 2. Digital Chaos also didn’t convince in their group stage games and thus there is no real favorite in this match.
Prediction: iG.Vitality wins the match. Result: 1:0.

You know who will win?

Read more about the Dota 2 The International 2017