League of Legends World Championship 2011 | Season 1

League of Legends World Championship Season 1 LogoLeague of Legends has definitely evolved at a fast pace over the last 3 years. Hosting its 4th World Championship just recently in South Korea, we can safely assume that the game is firmly set to grow for another few years. Going back in the past, to the Season 1 World Championship, a completely different experience is achieved.

Hosted in Jönköping, Sweden, the first world championship was a complete contrast to the 4th world championship held in 2014. For starters, the live audience was almost non-existent and even the tournament rules were different. Not to mention that the game was also played with a lot less champs and a completely different “Meta”. The number of teams participating in the tournament was also only half the number of teams in the latest championship, totaling to 8. The Prize pool was also way less than it is now, at a total of $99,500 (With first place getting $50,000).

Read more about the LoL World Championship 2018

Season 1 LoL World Championship Teams

There were 3 teams from North America, 3 from Europe, 1 from Singapore and 1 from Philippines. There were two groups, A & B, which decided the knockout stages. With that being cleared, the teams were

  • TSM (NA)
  • Epik Gamer (NA)
  • CLG (NA)
  • Fnatic (EU)
  • Against All Authority (EU)
  • Gamed.DE (EU)
  • Xan (Singapore)
  • Team Pacific from Philippines

The first League of Legends Worlds started with a group stage, which was a best of 1 and progressed into a Relegation Round, where the teams who finished 2nd and 3rd in group competed for a spot in semis and finally got through to the finals.

The group “A” standings after all matches had been played were: Epic Gamer 3 – 0, against All authority 2 -1, Fnatic 1- 2 and Team Pacific 0 – 3. Group B, on the other hand, was more closely tied for each position. There was a tie for 1st and 2nd place and a tie for 3rd and 4th place! Team Solo Mid, followed by CLG was held at 2 -1, while Team Gamed.DE finished 3rd at 1 – 2 with Xan following close behind at 1 – 2.

The semi-finals were a best of 3, with a separate winners and losers bracket. In the winner’s bracket, aAa went against TSM, winning by 2 – 1, while Fnatic went against Epik, winning by 2 – 0. TSM then competed aAa, determining the Grand Finale, which was once again between Fnatic and aAa.

The tournament layout was pretty complexly set. There were loser’s bracket for everything and a grand finale was created when there was no specific need for one. In essence, the winner’s bracket was supposed to send one seed forward to the grand finale while the loser’s bracket was supposed to send the other seed to the Grand Finale.

The winners were Fnatic, who won in a grand style. Their Mid laner, xPeke, had a delayed flight – resulting in him missing the first day (The group stages) of the tournament which resulted in them playing a substitute. However, once Peke arrived, he managed to carry his team to the finals and eventually the championship, with astounding results. The EU region dominated the scene, with both finalist teams being from Europe. The third place was secured by TSM, a team from North America.

The championship back then was way different then it is now. The game hadn’t evolved that much, the teams were still settling in to the game environments and even the fans were not willing to travel to watch the championship live. However, what it resulted in was the game getting more dominance and teams merging together to form stronger teams then before – and some of those teams are still in the Championship today, Dominating their respective regions.

Results LoL World Championship 2011 | Season 1

  • 1st Place: Fnatic | Prize Money: $ 50,000
  • 2nd Place: against All authority | Prize Money: $ 25,000
  • 3rd Place: Team SoloMid | Prize Money: $ 10,000
  • 4th Place: Epik Gamer | Prize Money: $ 7,000
  • 5th Place: Counter Logic Gaming | Prize Money: $ 3,500
  • 6th Place: Team GAMED.DE | Prize Money: $ 2,000
  • 7th-8th Place: Xan | Team Pacific | Prize Money: $ 1,000

Total Prize Money: $ 99,500

Further League of Legends World Championships:

League of Legends World Championship 2017 | Season 7

League of Legends World Championship 2016 | Season 6

League of Legends World Championship 2015 | Season 5

League of Legends World Championship 2014 | Season 4

League of Legends World Championship 2013 | Season 3

League of Legends World Championship 2012 | Season 2

Browse games

Gamble Responsibly


Please be aware that all predictions given on this website are the oppinion of the author and might not necessarily be correct.

Bonus offers and betting odds featured on this website are subject to change. Terms and conditions of the featured bookmakers apply.