International Wild Card Invitational IWCI 2016 | Overview

International Wildcard Invitational 2016 LogoIt’s good to be a fan of League of Legends at this time of the year. We get to witness some exciting tournaments and events that constantly remind us of the unpredictability and sheer awesomeness of LoL. The MSI (Mid-Season Invitational 2016 ) is just around the corner or more precisely, it will take place between 4th and 15th of May in Shanghai.

The tournament will feature the Spring’s winners from North American and Europen LCS Spring Playoffs, Korean LCK Playoffs, Chinese LPL Playoffs and Southeast Asian LMS Playoffs, as well as winner of the International Wild Card Invitational. Before we get to see the best of the best competing for the title of a champion, it’s definitely going to be exciting to check out International Wild Card Invitational. Let’s face it, competitors here are fighting for that final spot in the biggest LoL competition and they will give their very best to advance. It’s definitely worth to follow this tournament and in its honor this article brings you everything you should know about it.

League of Legends Icon About the International Wild Card Invitational

The International Wild Card Invitational or simply IWCI is direct qualifier to the MSI. It’s the next stage for eight teams from the emerging League of Legends Wildcard regions to step up and prove what they got. It’s “do or die” moment for these teams that want to use this unique chance to compete with the best. IWCI is a great opportunity for many players to present themselves to the global gaming community.

League of Legends Icon Facts IWCI 2016 Mexico

Betting / LivestreamLive Stream Button for IWCI 2016
Betting Odds Link Button
Special bets Link Button
  • Location: Riot Game Studios (group and bracket stage) Palacio de los Deportes (final), Mexico City
  • Event type: offline
  • Date: April 16, 2016 – April 23, 2016
  • Teams: 8 Teams
  • Format: Round Robin Group Stage | Best of 5 Playoffs
  • Prize: Winner gets ticket to MSI 2016
  • Schedule and Results
  • Patch: LoL 6.7
  • Live Streams for all matches available

League of Legends Icon Format and schedule

The tournament is divided into two stages:

  • Best of 1 Round Robin group stage (eight teams)
  • Bracket stage (four teams).

Each team in the tournament will play 7 matches during four days of the group stage (April 16-20). Then, four teams that come out on top will proceed to Semifinals bracket stage where they will play in single elimination Best of 5 format (April 20-21). Winning teams move to finals (April 23) where they’ll do their best to secure their spot in MSI. You can see detailed schedule of events on the official lolesports website or for detailed match schedule and results take a look below.

League of Legends Icon Teams and Players – IWCI Mexico

As it was already mentioned, the IWCI will feature eight teams from League of Legends wildcard regions: Brazil, the Commonwealth of Independent States (LCL), Latin America North and South, Oceania, Southeast Asia, and Turkey. Let’s meet all teams now.

Team LAN LAS Brazil Oceania LCL SE Asia Turkey Japan
Lyon Gaming Team Logo LoL
Lyon Gaming
Isurus Gaming Team Logo LoL
Isurus Gaming
INTZ e-Sports Team Logo LoL
INTZ eSports
The Chiefs eSports Club Team Logo LoL
The Chiefs eSports Club
Hard Random Team Logo LoL
Hard Random
Saigon Jokers Team Logo LoL
The Saigon Jokers
SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL
SuperMassive
DetonatioN FocusMe Team Logo LoL
DetonatioN FocusMe
TOP Daniel “Jirall” del Castillo Franco “Pride” Sanzana Felipe “Yang” Zhao Brandon “Swip3rR” Holland Dmitri “Smurf” Ivanov Duy Phuong “Row” Hoang Berke “Thaldrin”Demir, Asim Cihat “fabFabulous” Karakaya Yuta “Yutapon” Sugiura
JUNGLE Marcelo “Thyak” Ramones Claudio “Clatos” Navarrete Gabriel “Revolta” Henud Samuel “Spookz” Broadley Alexander “pvpstejos” Glazkov Cong Cam “Tran” Jinkey Furkan “Stomaged” Gungor Yun “Catch” Sang-ho
MID Uri “Uri” Scholderle Benjamin “Emp” Ramirez Gabriel “Tockers” Claumann Simon “Swiffer” Papamarkos Mykhailo “Kira” Harmash Van Ngoc Son “WarZone” Doan Koray “Naru” Bicak Kyohei “Ceros” Yoshida
ADC Ali “Seeiya” Bracamontes Juan “Zeicro” Fierro Micael “micaO” Rodrigues Derek “Raydere” Trang Vladislav “aMiracle” Scherbyna Phoc Long Hiep “Celebrity” Nguyen Nicolay “Achuu” Ellesgaard Shotaro “Zerost” Ikeda
SUPPORT Diego “Arce” Arce Chang Leandro “Newbie” Marcos Luan “Jockster” Cardoso Bryce “EGym” Paule Kirill “Likkrit” Malofeyev Anh Duy “Le” Tsu Mustafa “Dumbledoge” Kemal Gokseloglu Han “Eternal” Gi-hun
SUB Viet Long “Lovida” Mai

Here are some key facts you should know about participating teams:

  • This is Latin America North’s return to the IWCI after their first participation back in 2013
  • Latin America South poses as favorite to win this tournament after their dominant performances in various world-class events like International Challenge
  • Brazil has the most advanced infrastructure of any Wildcard regions
  • The Chiefs from Oceania are considered as one of the most unpredictable teams
  • The Commonwealth of Independent States teams are known for their good performances. In fact, this region is constant in IWCI tournaments. They were either champions or taken out the champions every year
  • Southeast Asia team is feared for its top tier mechanics and aggressive gameplay
  • Turkey is the current IWCI defending champion.
  • Japan is the youngest region to enter the IWCI tournament.

Betting odds

Betting odds are avialable at all major LoL betting sites. Check out or League of Legens betting overview to find out more.

Bet365 Logo2 BET365 Bet365 Logo2International Wild Card Invitational IWCI 2016 Grand Final Schedule and betting odds by bet365
 check current odds at Bet365 >>

BET365 INFO: Find LCS betting in the menu on the left: E-Sports

Teams | Road to the IWCI 2016

Standings Group Stage (completed)
1   SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSport 5 – 2
2   Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random 5 – 2
3   INTZ eSports Team Logo LoL INTZ e-Sports 5 – 2
4   Saigon Jokers Team Logo LoL Saigon Jokers 4 – 3
5   DetonatioN FocusMe Team Logo LoL DetonatioN FocusMe 3 – 4
6   The Chiefs eSports Club Team Logo LoLThe Chiefs eSports Club 3 – 4
7   Isurus Gaming Team Logo LoLIsurus Gaming 2 – 5
8   Lyon Gaming Team Logo LoL Lyon Gaming 1 – 6

Advanced to the Bracket Stage
Eliminated from the tournament

Schedule and Results | IWCI 2016 

Group Stage 

IWCI – Day 1 – April 16th 

Match #1: Lyon Gaming Team Logo LoL Lyon Gaming vs. Isurus Gaming Team Logo LoL Isurus Gaming    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 16th, 14:00 PDT / 17:00 EDT / 23:00 CEST)

Match #2: Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random vs. INTZ eSports Team Logo LoL INTZ e-Sports    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 16th, 15:00 PDT / 18:00 EDT / 00:00 CEST next day)

Match #3: SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports  vs. The Chiefs eSports Club Team Logo LoL The Chiefs eSports Club    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 16th, 16:00 PDT / 19:00 EDT / 01:00 CEST next day)

Match #4: DetonatioN FocusMe Team Logo LoL DetonatioN FocusMe vs. Saigon Jokers Team Logo LoL Saigon Jokers    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 16th, 17:00 PDT / 20:00 EDT / 02:00 CEST next day)

Match #5: The Chiefs eSports Club Team Logo LoL The Chiefs eSports Club vs. Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 16th, 18:00 PDT / 21:00 EDT / 03:00 CEST next day)

Match #6: INTZ eSports Team Logo LoL INTZ e-Sports vs. Lyon Gaming Team Logo LoL Lyon Gaming    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 16th, 19:00 PDT / 22:00 EDT / 04:00 CEST next day)

Match #7: Isurus Gaming Team Logo LoL Isurus Gaming vs. DetonatioN FocusMe Team Logo LoL DetonatioN FocusMe    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 16th, 20:00 PDT / 23:00 EDT / 05:00 CEST next day)

IWCI – Day 2 – April 17th 

Match #1: The Chiefs eSports Club Team Logo LoL The Chiefs eSports Club vs. INTZ eSports Team Logo LoL INTZ e-Sports    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 17th, 14:00 PDT / 17:00 EDT / 23:00 CEST)

Match #2: Saigon Jokers Team Logo LoL Saigon Jokers vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 17th, 15:00 PDT / 18:00 EDT / 00:00 CEST next day)

Match #3: Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random vs. Lyon Gaming Team Logo LoL Lyon Gaming    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 17th, 16:00 PDT / 19:00 EDT / 01:00 CEST next day)

Match #4: INTZ eSports Team Logo LoL INTZ e-Sports vs. Isurus Gaming Team Logo LoL Isurus Gaming    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 17th, 17:00 PDT / 20:00 EDT / 02:00 CEST next day)

Match #5: Lyon Gaming Team Logo LoL Lyon Gaming vs. DetonatioN FocusMe Team Logo LoL DetonatioN FocusMe    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 17th, 18:00 PDT / 21:00 EDT / 03:00 CEST next day)

Match #6: Isurus Gaming Team Logo LoL Isurus Gaming vs. Saigon Jokers Team Logo LoL Saigon Jokers    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 17th, 19:00 PDT / 22:00 EDT / 04:00 CEST next day)

Match #7: DetonatioN FocusMe Team Logo LoL DetonatioN FocusMe vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 17th, 20:00 PDT / 23:00 EDT / 05:00 CEST next day)

IWCI – Day 3 – April 18th 

Match #1: SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports  vs. Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 18th, 14:00 PDT / 17:00 EDT / 23:00 CEST)

Match #2: Saigon Jokers Team Logo LoL Saigon Jokers vs. The Chiefs eSports Club Team Logo LoL The Chiefs eSports Club    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 18th, 15:00 PDT / 18:00 EDT / 00:00 CEST next day)

Match #3: INTZ eSports Team Logo LoL INTZ e-Sports vs. DetonatioN FocusMe Team Logo LoL DetonatioN FocusMe    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 18th, 16:00 PDT / 19:00 EDT / 01:00 CEST next day)

Match #4: Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random vs. Isurus Gaming Team Logo LoL Isurus Gaming    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 18th, 17:00 PDT / 20:00 EDT / 02:00 CEST next day)

Match #5: The Chiefs eSports Club Team Logo LoL The Chiefs eSports Club vs. Lyon Gaming Team Logo LoL Lyon Gaming    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 18th, 18:00 PDT / 21:00 EDT / 03:00 CEST next day)

Match #6: Isurus Gaming Team Logo LoL Isurus Gaming vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 18th, 19:00 PDT / 22:00 EDT / 04:00 CEST next day)

Match #7: Lyon Gaming Team Logo LoL Lyon Gaming vs. Saigon Jokers Team Logo LoL Saigon Jokers    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 18th, 20:00 PDT / 23:00 EDT / 05:00 CEST next day)

IWCI – Day 4 – April 19th 

Match #1: Saigon Jokers Team Logo LoL Saigon Jokers vs. Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 19th, 14:00 PDT / 17:00 EDT / 23:00 CEST)

Match #2:DetonatioN FocusMe Team Logo LoL  DetonatioN FocusMe vs. The Chiefs eSports Club Team Logo LoL The Chiefs eSports Club    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 19th, 15:00 PDT / 18:00 EDT / 00:00 CEST next day)

Match #3: SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports  vs. INTZ eSports Team Logo LoL INTZ e-Sports    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 19th, 16:00 PDT / 19:00 EDT / 01:00 CEST next day)

Match #4: The Chiefs eSports Club Team Logo LoL The Chiefs eSports Club vs. Isurus Gaming Team Logo LoL Isurus Gaming    1  :  0  
Start Time: (19 de abril, 17:00 PDT / 20:00 EDT / 02:00 CEST next day)

Match #5: Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random vs. DetonatioN FocusMe Team Logo LoL DetonatioN FocusMe    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 19th, 18:00 PDT / 21:00 EDT / 03:00 CEST next day)

Match #6: Lyon Gaming Team Logo LoL Lyon Gaming vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports    0  :  1  
Start Time: (April 19th, 19:00 PDT / 22:00 EDT / 04:00 CEST next day)

Match #7: INTZ eSports Team Logo LoL INTZ e-Sports vs. Saigon Jokers Team Logo LoL Saigon Jokers    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 19th, 20:00 PDT / 23:00 EDT / 05:00 CEST next day)

Tiebreakers – April, 19th 

Match #8: Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random vs. INTZ eSports Team Logo LoL INTZ e-Sports    1  :  0  
Start Time: (April 19th, 21:00 PDT / 00:00 EDT next day / 06:00 CEST next day)

Match #9: Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports    1  :   
Start Time: (April 19th, 22:00 PDT / 01:00 EDT next day / 07:00 CEST next day)

Playoffs

Semi-Finals – April, 20th/21st

Semi-Final #1: Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random vs. INTZ eSports Team Logo LoL INTZ e-Sports    3  :    (Bo5)
Start Time: (April 20th, 14:00 PDT / 17:00 EDT / 23:00 CEST)

Semi-Final #2: SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports vs. Saigon Jokers Team Logo LoL Saigon Jokers    3  :    (Bo5)
Start Time: (April 21th, 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 19:00 CEST)

Grand Finals – April, 23th 

Grand Finals: Hard Random Team Logo LoL Hard Random vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports    1  :  3   (Bo5)
Start Time: (April 23th, 10:00 PDT / 13:00 EDT / 19:00 CEST)

Live stream

Now that you know the teams, schedule, and what’s at stake here all you have to do is to watch the exciting matches on the live stream, right here on this page or on the official LoLsports accounts on Twitch or YouTube. Who’s your favorite to win IWCI and qualify to mid-season invitational?


You know who will win?

About the Author: Aman El TawilAmna El Tawil is a news reporter and a technology blogger. For the past five years, she has worked for major publications and TV networks in the Middle East, covering one of region’s hotspots. When Amna is not chasing after the truth amidst gas canisters, she can be found cheering her favorite football team on, or unwinding with some online gaming.