TI6 Main Event Day 2 – Predictions & Betting Tips

TI6 - The International 2016 Dota2 Logo

Day 1 of The International 2016 was a tough day for some of the favorite teams. OG dropped to the Lower Bracket in their first round against MVP Phoenix. This was something that not many expected, but it was certainly not the biggest surprise. MVP Phoenix is known to perform very well when they need it the most. But besides that, OG suffered a lot from N0Tail underperforming in two games, especially on the last one where two bad stun targets with his Sven decided the fatal outcome of the match.

This wasn’t the only surprise of the day. Incredibly, we saw Pudge and Techies in the same team. It wasn’t exactly a good idea as it gave a free win to DC, but Wings Gaming then managed to win the third game without problems. It was a fun moment, but since it backfired is not likely we’ll see it again.

We also said farewell to a few teams with a lot of followers. Na’Vi lost against Liquid regardless of having all the intentions of finishing big, and Secret was eliminated by LGD. Puppey’s team played really well, but sadly they got heavily outdrafted and couldn’t handle a match with such a disadvantage.

Now Day 2 is ready to commence and we’re all very excited to see what’s yet to come. Today, 2 more teams will be out of the tournament. DC, LGD Gaming, OG and TnC will fight today to stay alive in the most important Dota 2 tournament –and the highest paying competition of all eSports.

TI6 Main Event Predictions and betting tips:
Day 1 > Day 2 > Day 3 > Day 4 > Day 5  > Day 6 – Finals & Grand Finals

Predictions & betting tips – TI6 Main Event Day 2 – UPPER Bracket

Main Event | Day 2: EHOME Team Logo Dota 2 EHOME vs. Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance

Start Time: August 9th, 10:30 AM PDT  / 13:30 PM EDT  / 19:30 CEST

EHOME got the best score out of all the teams participating in the Group Stage. They only lost one match. That’s enough to say that they are going to end big in this tournament. There is something to expect from Chinese teams every year: that there’s always one team that only prepared to win TI and never cared for the rest of the tournaments of the year. This time that team is EHOME. It’s clear that this team only cared about Ti6 since they got their new roster in March when iceiceice joined their lines.

Alliance getting to the Upper Bracket wasn’t exactly something we predicted. The European team was struggling a lot, but they still got some good wins against stronger teams. Still, we need to bear in mind that they were in arguably the weakest group, so they still need to prove more.

Prediction: 2-0 EHOME. The Chinese didn’t seem to have a problem to win against all other teams in their group, and most of them were stronger than Alliance. Odds are that they are going to take this series without too much hassle.

Main Event | Day 2: Evil Genius Team Logo Dota 2 EG vs. Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee

Start Time: August 9th, 13:30 AM PDT  / 16:30 PM EDT  / 22:30 CEST

EG wasn’t having a good season after Arteezy left them to join Secret’s lines. It wasn’t until they reached Seattle that they started to have better games. They had good results during the first stage of this International, so we could expect them to finish in a good place now since they can play from the Upper Bracket.

Newbee didn’t have their best group play, but they did fulfill the expectative. They only lost against the two teams that finished first in their group. It’s possible that the improved performance those teams showed had thrown them off guard. This is why we need to see more games. Even still, they’re a highly efficient team that knows what they’re doing.

Prediction: 2-1 Newbee. This is a really tough match and an interesting one to watch. Newbee has been more consistent for a lot of time now, so they do have the upper hand here. Since EG has had too many troubles lately we are more confident that the Chinese will have a better performance.

You know who will win?

Predictions & betting tips – TI6 Main Event Day 2 – LOWER Bracket

Main Event | Day 2: OG Dota 2 Team Logo OG vs. TnC Gaming Team Dota2 Logo TnC Gaming

Start Time: August 9th, 16:30 AM PDT  / 19:30 PM EDT  / 01:30 CEST (next day)

OG came down to the Lower Bracket in the first round of the Main Event, but that doesn’t mean they will finish between the last places. Odds are that this team will at least make it really close to the finals. After all, they’re still the same team that finished first in their group and they’re the only ones to have won a Major tournament starting from the Lower Bracket. A lot of pressure will be weighted on N0tail’s shoulder, as it seems like of all the 5 players, he was the one that did not play as good as before.

TnC managed to get their victory against VG. R. in their Bo2 series. The Philippine team has already earned a lot more money than what they probably thought they would. Sadly there’s little evidence for us to say that they will go any further in this championship, especially against OG and their LAN-winning roster.

Prediction: 2-1 OG. Even though OG should dominate TnC, we think the Philippine will be able to take at least one game due to the problems that OG showed in the Upper Bracket.

Main Event | Day 2: Digital Chaos Dota 2 Team Logo Digital Chaos vs. LGD Team Logo Dota2 LGD Gaming 

Start Time: August 9th, 19:30 AM PDT  / 22:30 PM EDT  / 04:30 CEST (next day)

DC had a tough series against Wings Gaming. It looked like the Chinese team was much stronger. The series ended 2-1 but all because of the Pudge + Techies game that didn’t look like a serious attempt at winning. It almost looked like Wings was taunting the Americans with that pick, saying that they could win even with a crazy draft like that.

LGD Gaming won a Bo1 against Secret thanks to their superior drafting. But things may have looked much different if they played a Bo3 instead. LGD Gaming had a really bad time during the Group Stage against teams that did much worse than Secret and especially DC. For this series they will need to be a lot more consistent than that.

Prediction: 2-1 DC. DC doesn’t seem like one of the teams that will make it to the Grand Finals, but neither do LGD. And even though LGD looks better on paper, DC has played much better together in this flexible and balanced Meta we’re seeing for this International tournament. DC should be able to win this, but it might be a close call since LGD has much better players.

You know who will win?

<< Back to The International 2016 main overview

<< TI6 betting and odds overview

<< Dota 2 betting

<< Esports betting tips

*.) Odds may have changed by now – no guarantee! The predictions are the opinion of the author. 

William De SousaAbout The Author: 
Predictions by Will ‘WilDS’ De Sousa, E-sports Journalist and Dota player since 2010. Contact Will‘ WilDS’ De Sousa on Twitter!