TI6 Group Stage Day 2 – Predictions & Betting Tips

TI6 - The International 2016 Dota2 LogoThe first day of the TI6 Group Stage did show some interesting results and it has risen many questions about the performance of some teams. Some of the teams that have been having a rough time lately did great in this first day against others that we thought were going to dominate. The first example is EG; they were able to get a draw against OG and Wings, but won easily against Na’Vi. This already puts them in a good position to finish in the first 4 positions of their group. On the other hand, Fnatic wasn’t able to win a single game, and they still haven’t faced the strongest lineups of their group, so they are looking weaker than we though. Still, there are 2 days left and things might change since we still need to watch 2/3rds of the games.

TI6 Main Event Predictions and betting tips:
Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 > Day 4 > Day 5  > Day 6 – Finals & Grand Finals

TI6 Group Stage Predictions and betting tips:
Day 1 > Day 2 > Day 3

We will predict here the most difficult matches of the day, since these ones will be the most important results to define these group’s’ results.

Top Matches TI6 Group Stage Day 2  – Predictions & Betting Tips

Group Stage | Day 2: OG Dota 2 Team Logo OG vs. Team Wings Dota 2 Logo Wings Gaming

Start Time: August 4th, 09:30 AM PDT  / 12:30 PM EDT  / 18:30 CEST

OG had a tougher day than we thought they would. LGD and EG both pulled a draw against the Manila Major winners. These two teams have a lot of potential of becoming the Ti6 champion, but they had a rougher time against weaker teams than OG. This gives us a lot of doubts about the performance of OG in this stage. Even still, OG pulled amazing plays that are now breaking social forums like Reddit. But, sometimes this isn’t enough.

Wings once again had a very unstable Day 1. They pulled a draw against their toughest opponent of the day but lost 2-0 to arguably the weakest team in the group (TnC). This is the kind of result they usually have, which makes them a very difficult team to predict.

Prediction: 1-1. These teams are tough to predict at this stage, but taking into account that EG vs. OG ended up in a draw, just like Wings vs. EG, we will give it a draw.

Group Stage | Day 2: Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Team Liquid vs. MVP Phoenix Team Logo Dota2 MVP Phoenix

Start Time: August 4th, 01:30 PM PDT  / 04:30 PM EDT  / 22:30 CEST

Even though Liquid didn’t win a series yesterday, we must remember that they only played two games. They were both draws against Chinese teams. But Liquid is still one of the strongest team right now, and these two draws were against the two strongest Asian teams.

MVP Phoenix got a draw against DC, which isn’t nearly the strongest team in the group. They weren’t able to win a single game yesterday. Still, they are the kind of team that starts improving as the tournament progresses.

Prediction: 2-0 Liquid. The Europeans are looking really strong. They didn’t win their matches yesterday, but they were against arguably the two strongest teams in their group. MVP Phoenix will need to play well if they want to get at least a draw against the Germans.

Group Stage | Day 2: Team Secret Logo Dota 2 Team Secret vs. EHOME Team Logo Dota 2 EHOME

Start Time: August 4th, 01:30 PM PDT  / 04:30 PM EDT  / 22:30 CEST

Secret didn’t have a bad day 1. They won against VG. R. and got a draw against the stronger MVP Phoenix. Today they will have more opportunity to show their strengths, as they will play more games than the first day. There are a lot of questions about this teams, but they will be answered as the tournament continues.

EHOME came to the Wild Card after having a rough time in the Chinese qualifiers. But it seems like they’ve worked things out, since they seem to have improved as soon as they arrived to Seattle. After day 1, we can say that they are one of the candidates to finish in the first 4 positions in their group.

Prediction: 1-1. This game has a lot of chances of ending in a draw, although it seems that EHOME could beat Secret if the European squad doesn’t realize that this isn’t the typical Wild Card team.

Group Stage | Day 2: Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee vs. EHOME Team Logo Dota 2 EHOME

Start Time: August 4th, 05:30 PM PDT  / 08:30 PM EDT  / 02:30 CEST (next day)

Newbee vs. EHOME will be one of the most interesting matches in this Group Stage. Both teams are Chinese, so they both have a similar playing style. Not only because of their region, but also because they’re both aggressive teams that are highly efficient. They both got a draw against Liquid yesterday. Going back to matches before the International isn’t too relevant since EHOME seem to have improved a lot in the time between the Regional and the Wild Card. This will be a good series to calibrate better how EHOME is going to perform during the entire tournament.

Prediction: 1-1. This game is probably going to end in a draw. To define which one of these two is the best right now, we would have to see them play at least a Bo5 series. For now, two games isn’t much and it’s probably ending in an equal result.

You know who will win?

Bet365 Logo2 BET365 Bet365 Logo2
ti6 day2 group stage betting oddscheck current odds at Bet365 >>
BET365 INFO: Find the Dota 2 – TI6 betting market in the menu on the left: E-Sports > TI6

<< Back to The International 2016 main overview

<< TI6 betting and odds overview

<< TI6 Group Stage

<< Dota 2 betting

*.) Odds may have changed by now – no guarantee! The predictions are the opinion of the author. 

William De SousaAbout The Author: 
Predictions by Will ‘WilDS’ De Sousa, E-sports Journalist and Dota player since 2010. Contact Will‘ WilDS’ De Sousa on Twitter!