TI6 Group Stage Day 1 – Predictions & Betting Tips

TI6 - The International 2016 Dota2 LogoFor the first two days of the TI6 Group Stage we will see a lot of games happen in short time. Each team will have to play Bo2 matches against everybody else in their group, so it is more of a test to know who are the better teams overall. This is why it’s a good idea to predict as winners the teams that we know can win in most situations.

TI6 Main Event Predictions and betting tips:
Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 > Day 4 > Day 5  > Day 6 – Finals & Grand Finals

TI6 Group Stage Predictions and betting tips:
Day 1 
Day 2 > Day 3

For this reasons, we predict that the most probable teams that will finish in the first 4 positions for Group A are:

Betting / Livestream
Betting Odds Link ButtonWatch the TI6 2016 live stream!
Special bets Link Button
  • OG Dota 2 Team Logo OG
  • LGD Team Logo Dota2 LGD Gaming
  • Natus Vincere Team Logo Dota 2 Na’Vi
  • Team Wings Dota 2 Logo Wings Gaming

As for Group B:

  • Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Liquid
  • Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee
  • MVP Phoenix Team Logo Dota2 MVP Phoenix
  • Team Secret Logo Dota 2 Secret

There are still other teams that might make it instead of some of the ones we write here. But generally the first 2 teams in our list will almost certainly go to the Upper Bracket. On the other hand, EHOME, VG. Reborn, Escape Gaming, Fnatic and Alliance are good teams that might make it depending on the result of the rest of the matches.

Still there are some critical games that will define the results of this Group Stage. Here are the most important matches of the first day of The International 2016. For an current overview of all TI6 betting odds take a look here.

Day 1 – TI6 Group Stage – Preview & Predictions

Match #1: OG Dota 2 Team Logo OG vs. LGD Team Logo Dota2 LGD Gaming

Start Time: August 3rd, 09:30 AM PDT  / 12:30 PM EDT  / 18:30 CEST

Similarly to MVP Phoenix, LGD is the kind of team that could win the entire tournament. In fact, LGD has better history, and their players have a lot of more experience winning in other Internationals. They only lack some team consistency, as it is clear that they have the individual skill to make it.

OG has been playing great and they are probably in their best moment right now. They chose to preserve their roster and work on their problems when others preferred to swap players, and it worked great for them. Now they are the current winners of the Manila and Frankfurt Majors. OG does look like the better team right now.

Prediction:  OG 2-0

Match #1: Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Team Liquid vs. Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee

Start Time: August 3rd, 03:30 PM PDT  / 06:30 PM EDT  / 00:30 CEST (next day)

This is one of the few matchups that might reflect upon the result of the entire tournament. In fact, this one looks like one of the possible scenarios for the Grand Finals.

Liquid has managed to beat Newbee in the past in really important matches. It happened in the Manila Major when Newbee tried to qualify to the Grand Finals, but they couldn’t beat the Germans. The truth is that this is one of those matchups that have more chances of ending as a draw, so we will predict this result for this Group Stage. Both teams are almost equally good, so the possibilities of a 1-1 are high.

Prediction: 1-1 Draw

Match #3: Team Secret Logo Dota 2 Team Secret vs. MVP Phoenix Team Logo Dota2 MVP Phoenix

Start Time: August 3rd, 05:30 PM PDT  / 08:30 PM EDT  / 02:30 CEST (next day)

Secret has been recovered a lot since they swapped Universe for Bulba. Even though Universe is overall a better player and offlaner, Bulba does fit better in this team. He plays around his teams and he’s not the kind of risky player that will place his team in danger. With him, Secret was able to go through the Open Qualifiers and finish in first place in the Regionals. Secret and EG are the two teams that have played the most in the last weeks, so they got a lot of practice playing together, although Secret has been getting better results.

MVP Phoenix is the kind of team that could take the entire tournament if they were more consistent. They have lost some of their magic lately, but they are still one of the favorites, and that’s why they were invited.

Right now they look like these two teams are on a similar level, but Secret has played a lot more lately and just finished second place, so they might be more prepared right now.

Prediction: Secret 2-0

You know who will win?


<< Back to The International 2016 main overview

<< TI6 betting and odds overview

<< TI6 Group Stage

<< Dota 2 betting

*.) Odds may have changed by now – no guarantee! The predictions are the opinion of the author. 

William De SousaAbout The Author: 
Predictions by Will ‘WilDS’ De Sousa, E-sports Journalist and Dota player since 2010. Contact Will‘ WilDS’ De Sousa on Twitter!