Day 1: Predictions | ESL One New York 2015 | Dota 2

Match Predictions & Schedule Day 1 – ESL One NY 2015:

The ESL New York 2015 starting matches are very close. In this tournament, we will finally see the TI5 finalists competing after a well-deserved vacation. Will they keep their competition level and fierceness they showed before? or will we see another victorious team? Here are our predictions:

Match Schedule Day 1 – 10/03/2015:

Betting Odds Link Button
  • Match #1: team secret Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Team Secret vs. Fnatic Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Fnatic
    8:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 17:00 CEST / 0:00 KST (Oct 4)
  • Match #2: Team Fire Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Team Fire vs. CDEC Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 CDEC
    11:00 PDT / 14:00 EDT / 20:00 CEST / 3:00 KST (Oct 4)
  • Match #3: Virtus.Pro Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Virtus Pro vs. Invictus Gaming @ ESL New York IG
    14:00 PDT / 17:00 EDT / 23:00 CEST / 6:00 KST (Oct 4)
  • Match #4: Team Vega Squadron Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Vega vs. Evil Geniuses Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Evil Geniuses
    18:00 PDT / 21:00 EDT / 03:00 CEST / 10:00 KST (Oct 4)
  • ESL One New York 2015 Tournament Overview

Match #1: team secret Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Team Secret vs. Fnatic Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Fnatic

8:00 PDT / 11:00 EDT / 17:00 CEST / 0:00 KST (Oct 4)
team secret Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015
Team Secret’s new roster has already been proved in matches against Virtus Pro, Navi and Alliance during the WCA Europe Pro Qualifiers; this new roster managed to win all these matches. They even won 2-0 against Virtus Pro (VP), which was the team that eliminated them during TI5. We need to remember that VP did not make any change to their roster, so this is a good sign that Secret’s new composition –Puppey, EternalEnvy, W33, Misery and Pieliedie – is an improvement from their previous state. Its captain, Puppey, has been doing a great job at commanding them.

Fnatic Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015

On the other hand, although Fnatic were not invited right away, they completely dominated the SEA Qualifiers for the tournament. They also dominated the BTS Southeast Asia championship. Their new roster composed by Mushi, Black^, DJ, Ohaiyo and Net has proved to be the best in Southeast Asia. This makes this match one of the toughest to predict; both teams still have to prove themselves against teams from different regions and play styles.

Prediction: Both teams’ new rosters have only faced lineups from their own continent. They have not been proved against different play styles that could get them off the track. Fnatic is counting with a European carry whose style could help them win against European squads; Black^ has known this scene for quite a while. On the other hand, Secret has beaten 2-0 a tier 1 team like Virtus Pro already. This leads us to believe that the winning team will be Secret, as they seem to have faced stronger opponents and still managed to come ahead by quite a long shot.

>> Result Prediction: 2-1 team secret Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Team Secret


Match #2: Team Fire Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Team Fire vs. CDEC Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 CDEC

11:00 PDT / 14:00 EDT / 20:00 CEST / 3:00 KST (Oct 4)
CDEC Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015
One of the most pleasant surprises from TI5 was the rise of CDEC, a team that qualified just barely for that tournament. They didn’t receive any invite and they had to win the Wild Card to earn their place in the most important championship of Dota 2; however, they still managed to finish second place and they became, in just a few days, one of the best and most successful teams in the history of this game. CDEC almost won TI5 and they are still one of the scariest Chinese teams nowadays. With all this success with such a young age, it is only natural that they decided to stay with the same squad. This is one of the few teams that want to keep going as they are because they are happy with their results and believe they can achieve more. Even though they haven’t played any important tournament match after TI5, we can expect them to be in great shape. We can’t forget about the draft strategies that sent Evil Geniuses to the lower bracket during TI5; we can’t also forget about CDEC’s carry Agressif and his incredible performance with a perfect balance of farming and, living up with his name, aggressive playing.

Team Fire Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015

Team Fire, just like CDEC during TI5, had to work hard to get into ESL One New York 2015. They only dropped a single game against Digital Chaos, which is a team composed by Aui_2000, the former EG player that has been accredited as one of the main reasons why Evil Geniuses managed to win TI5. This says a lot about Team Fire’s capacities, which is commanded by FluffNstuff, one of the main captain figures in the American scene. Together with Whitebeard, they’ve formed this new team conformed by Jeyo – position 1-, 747 – position 2 – and Moo – position 3-. They come to this tournament as the American underdogs that are fighting for an important place in the Dota 2 professional scene.

Prediction: Even though Team Fire did very well during the American Qualifier, CDEC comes from a more solid place and has proved that its roster is one of the most lethal. Their aggressive but intelligent game can overwhelm any team. If their opponent doesn’t have a way to control them and take their momentum away, CDEC has high probabilities of winning. FluffNstuf will have to out-draft the Chinese team to have a chance of winning. This can certainly happen, but odds are that a captain like Q will find a way to make them unstoppable.

>> Result Prediction: 2-1 CDEC Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 CDEC

 

Match #3: Virtus.Pro Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Virtus Pro vs. Invictus Gaming @ ESL New York IG

14:00 PDT / 17:00 EDT / 23:00 CEST / 6:00 KST (Oct 4)
Virtus Pro (VP)
is another of the few teams that decided to keep their squad untouched; they just added two substitutions –JotM and L0lik_O – in case some players from the main roster couldn’t play. This CIS team went to the WCA European Qualifier and did a great job, but only managed to finish second against Team Secret. We need to remember that this squad was responsible for the elimination of Team Secret during TI5; however, it seems that the changes to Secret’s roster was a good decision, as VP couldn’t take a single game from them.

Invictus Gaming (IG) has already tasted the glory of winning the Aegis. Nevertheless, those times are long gone and a lot of things have changed. But still, even though this team is not in the same shape they were some time ago, they are still considered a top-tier team. They were the favorites for a lot of people to win the Chinese Qualifier, but they couldn’t handle EHOME’s new roster. Now they’re given a second chance to do great things at the main event, as EHOME won’t be able to make it despite winning due to Visa issues. Although we’ve already said they have been in better shape before, they’re still a scary team; they proved this by finishing second in the toughest Qualifier of this tournament. We have to remember that they’re just testing a new roster that added Rabbit and a new captain, Super. This lineup hasn’t played that much together, but the team is showing a better performance than during TI5.

Prediction: The good thing about a match between a Chinese team and a European team when it comes to odds predictions is that these two scenes – especially the Chinese scene – have a lot of tournaments, so there is relatively a lot of material to analyze. The Chinese Qualifier was, without any doubt, a really tough test IG had to endure, but they stood strong. In this case, even though they didn’t win the Qualifier, they showed a stronger game. On the other hand, VP hasn’t been doing that bad, but they just lost 2-0 against a tier 1 lineup – Secret –. We have to bear in mind that the Chinese scene is just harder and still IG has managed to keep doing relatively well.

>> Result Prediction: 2-1 Invictus Gaming @ ESL New York IG

 

Match #4: Team Vega Squadron Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Vega vs. Evil Geniuses Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 Evil Geniuses

18:00 PDT / 21:00 EDT / 03:00 CEST / 10:00 KST (Oct 4)

Evil Geniuses Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015

One of the teams that have been giving a lot to talk about during the last months is Evil Geniuses (EG). This is not only because they won TI5, but also because of their controversial decision to kick Aui_2000 right away. A lot of people think that he was the main reason why they won the most important tournament in Dota 2. However, something to take into account is that this team’s new roster is not weak at all. They replaced Aui_2000 with Arteezy, one of the youngest and most talented players considered by most pros as one of the best carries in the world. Fear, which was EG’s carry during TI5, will play the 4th role while Arteezy will play 1st. This is actually not the first team where Fear plays a support role, so the team is pretty confident that they’ll do even better. This lineup has not played any game since TI5 but they still got some of the strongest players in the professional scene.

Team Vega Squadron Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015

Vega is one of those teams that have had really high peak moments and hard falls. They can beat a tier 1 team one day and lose the next one to a tier 3. This is why Vega is hard to predict. They managed to qualify for the ESL One New York 2015 by beating NIP 3-1; however, they lost 2-0 against this very same squad a couple of weeks later. Right now they stand in a good position after winning against Team Empire and Monkey Freedom Fighters; nevertheless, they will need to keep their momentum and play at their best to have a chance for a bigger price during the ESL One.

Prediction: EG comes from winning the most important Dota 2 tournament. They got a new roster that has not worked together in any official match as a whole, but each of its members has played before for this team and for the same captain. This is certainly not an entirely new lineup and each of its players is considered among the top. This leaves Vega in a hard position, as they can’t seem to be able to keep a consistent winning streak; it won’t be easy for them to win in a Bo3 situation against what is now officially the best team in the scene.

>> Result Prediction: 2-0 Evil Geniuses Team Logo - Dota 2 ESL New York 2015 EG

Do you know who will win?
Take a look at our esports betting sites overview and find out more about betting on Dota 2.