Playoffs and Predictions | CS:GO Dreamhack Malmö 2016

DreamHack Masters Malmo Logo 2016After one of the most shocking group stages of the year, the biggest underdog team (TyLoo) was able to defeat LG in the deciders match 2:1 even after falling to LG in the first game by a scoreline of 16-7. With mousesports doing equally as impressive, won their first 2 games convincingly to sum up the Group A with the 2 favorites (Liquid & LG) out of the tournament.

There was a lot of news circulating around Na’Vi prior to the start of CS:GO DreamHack Malmo 2016. It was whether GuardiaN could play through his wrist injury and eventually decided to have a serious hand surgery and will be out for rehab. In a more shocking revelation during the final day of the group stages, GuardiaN has been cleared by DreamHack and the doctors to participate in the playoffs. Their coach ‘starix’ did a great job filling the void leading Na’Vi to a 2-0 group stages finish. With G2.Esports playing quite abysmal right now, CLG and GODSENT (Former Team Ancient) was able to take advantage and ultimately leading to GODSENT taking the 2:0 deciders match against CLG including a tight close game and sums up Group B.

With another shocker in what has already been a crazy start to the tournament, Dignitas was able to break apart NiP and Astralis. They only lost a total of 11 rounds against these 2 top teams and easily secures a spot to the playoffs. With Lounge Gaming being the ‘mouse in the house’ team, it would be Astralis and NiP that would be fighting for the playoff spot. In what looked like a 50-50 match between the two, both taking a map each rather easily it was NiP coming up on top with 16-12 victory on de_train.

After an impressive run at MLG Columbus to revert back to their old selves, VP is back at it again with 2 dominating performances to secure a spot for the playoffs. With the streak of losses EnVyUs has been having, they decided to drop kioShiMa and replace him with DEV1L. Unfortunately that didn’t help as much as they still continue to lose and fall completely short in MLG Columbus. kioShiMa being a free agent, he reportedly got 5-6 offers from NA teams and eventually signs with FaZe clan who are also having a terrible year so far. With all that being said, these two teams would face off in an elimination match just to stay alive and despite some heroics from kioShiMa, EnVyUs took the match and advanced to the deciders match against Tempo Storm. They eventually won the series against Tempo Storm in what looked like a tight series all throughout albeit the result being 2:0. I would say TS would’ve won it if they won inferno 16:14 and would face again in cobblestone but EnVyUs was able to clutch it and secure the last spot for the playoffs.

DreamHack Masters Malmo 2016 – Playoffs | Facts

Betting / LivestreamLive Stream Button for CS:GO ESL Malmö 2016
Betting Odds Link Button
Special bets Link Button

Bracket Playoffs and Teams

Quarterfinals (04/16)
Semifinals (04/17)
Grand Final (04/17)
Natus Vincere CSGO Team Logo Natus Vincere 2
Tyloo CSGO Team Logo TyLoo 0 Natus Vincere CSGO Team Logo Natus Vincere 2
vs. Natus Vincere CSGO Team Logo Natus Vincere
Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Team Dignitas 0 Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Team Dignitas
0
Team EnVyUs CSGO Team Logo Team EnVyUs 2 vs.
Mousesports CSGO Team Logo mousesports 1 Ninjas in Pyjamas CSGO Team Logo Ninjas in Pyjamas
Godsent CSGO Team Logo GODSENT  2 Godsent CSGO Team Logo GODSENT  1
vs.
Ninjas in Pyjamas CSGO Team Logo Ninjas in Pyjamas 2 Ninjas in Pyjamas CSGO Team Logo Ninjas in Pyjamas
 2
Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo Virtus.Pro 0

Teams and Records

Mousesports CSGO Team Logo Mousesports (2-0) – NiKo, chrisJ, nex, denis and Spiidi
Tyloo CSGO Team Logo TyLoo (2-1) – Mo, fancy1, DD, somebody and Attacker
Natus Vincere CSGO Team Logo Natus Vincere (2-0) – GuardiaN, flamie, seized, Edward and Zeus
Godsent CSGO Team Logo GODSENT (2-1) – pronax, schneider, twist, pauf, Lekr0
Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Team Dignitas (2-0) – MSL, kjaerbye, RUBINO, k0nfig and tenzki
Ninjas in Pyjamas CSGO Team Logo Ninjas in Pyjamas (2-1) – GeT_RiGhT, friberg, f0rest, Xizt and pyth
Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo Virtus.Pro (2-0) – pashabiceps, NEO, Snax, byali and TaZ
Team EnVyUs CSGO Team Logo Team EnVyUs (2-1) – kennyS, Happy, NBK, DEV1L and apEX

Schedule and Predictions

Schedule – Dreamhack Malmö 2016 – Playoffs

DreamHack Malmö 2016 – Quarterfinals 

Quarterfinal #1: Natus Vincere CSGO Team Logo Natus Vincere vs. Tyloo CSGO Team Logo TyLoo   2   0   (16/10) | (16/5
Start Time: April 16th, 02:00 AM PDT / 05:00 AM EDT / 11:00 CEST

Quarterfinal #2: Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Team Dignitas vs. Team EnVyUs CSGO Team Logo Team EnVyUs   0   2   (12/16) | (8/16
Start Time: April 16th, 05:00 AM PDT / 07:00 AM EDT / 14:00 CEST

Quarterfinal #3: Mousesports CSGO Team Logo mousesports vs. Godsent CSGO Team Logo GODSENT       1   2   (16/7) | (10/16) | (13/16) 
Start Time: April 16th, 08:00 AM PDT / 10:00 AM EDT / 17:00 CEST

Quarterfinal #4: Ninjas in Pyjamas CSGO Team Logo Ninjas in Pyjamas vs. Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo Virtus.Pro    0   2   (12/16) | (12/16

DreamHack Malmö 2016 – Semifinal and Grand Final 

Semifinal #1: Natus Vincere CSGO Team Logo Natus Vincere vs. Team EnVyUs CSGO Team Logo Team EnVyUs    2   0   (16/7) | (16/2
Start Time: April 17th, 03:00 AM PDT / 06:00 AM EDT / 12:00 CEST

Semifinal #2: Godsent CSGO Team Logo GODSENT vs. Ninjas in Pyjamas CSGO Team Logo Ninjas in Pyjama    1   2   (14/16) | (19/16) | (10/16
Start Time: April 17th, 06:00 AM PDT / 08:00 AM EDT / 15:00 CEST

Grand Final: Natus Vincere CSGO Team Logo Natus Vincere vs. Ninjas in Pyjamas CSGO Team Logo Ninjas in Pyjama
Start Time: April 17th, 10:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM EDT / 19:00 CEST

>> Full scheudle with all results for the DH Malmö 2016 

Predictions – Semi-Finals – Dreamhack Malmö 2016

Semifinal #1: Natus Vincere CSGO Team Logo Natus Vincere vs. Team EnVyUs CSGO Team Logo Team EnVyUs

Start Time: April 17th, 03:00 AM PDT / 06:00 AM EDT / 12:00 CEST

After a good win from EnVyUs against dignitas last night, do not ride the train just yet. Dignitas played awfully bad and there is still something missing from EnVyUs to beat a top team, if not the top team, in Na’Vi. GuardiaN is back as expected pushing ‘starix’ back to the coach role. Na’Vi holds too much talent to get upset by EnVyUs here. They are better with chemistry obviously since they’ve stuck with their team for so long while EnVyUs had at least 3-4 roster changes in the past year. If things do get clicking with EnVyUs, there will only be a small window for them to break and upset Na’Vi which is a long stretch if you ask me. KennyS did well and GuardiaN did well in their previous series and it would be exciting to see a defensive awper duke it out against an aggressive awper.

Natus Vincere (75%) vs Team EnVyUs (25%)

Na’Vi wins 2-0

Semifinal #2: Godsent CSGO Team Logo GODSENT vs. Ninjas in Pyjamas CSGO Team Logo Ninjas in Pyjama

Start Time: April 17th, 06:00 AM PDT / 08:00 AM EDT / 15:00 CEST

As a fan of NiP in the old days, they are looking just a step behind from being the old ‘NiP’. It will be a swedish battle and I am sure ‘pronax’ knows a lot from history on how NiP play. Maybe that is why they wanted to get matched up with NiP in the semis or maybe just want to avoid Na’Vi. Either way, GODSENT has played remarkably well especially after being beaten badly in the first map and losing the pistols and the first buy round in the next map. I did chose mousesports to beat them and NiKo like always performed well. He just lacks the support from his teammates. ChrisJ disappeared in that 3rd map and you can’t have that from your awper. Awpers usually get more than a positive KDR as they teammates will always be supporting you to get shots. With that being said, it is more of a loss for mousesports than a win for GODSENT. A risky match here knowing that pronax is one of the best in-game leaders out there and have a history matching up against NiP when he was with fnatic. Form, experience, chemistry and map pool favors NiP and potential goes to GODSENT. They show promise and is still quite a new team.

Ninjas in Pyjamas (75%) vs GODSENT (25%)

NiP wins 2-1

Predictions – Quarterfinals – DH Malmö 2016

The playoffs looks pretty hard to predict with LG dropping and Natus Vincere being questionable with GuardiaN playing after a quick rehab. They still are the favorites to win but they look vulnerable. Virtus.pro and Ninjas in Pyjamas have the experience and currently looking great. The dark horses will be Mousesports and Dignitas although these two won’t meet unless they both make it to the finals where in that case, Dignitas would have the advantage matchup wise. I am picking NiP to win this one but it looks like a long shot at the moment with their current path.

Quarterfinals #1: Natus Vincere CSGO Team Logo Natus Vincere vs. Tyloo CSGO Team Logo TyLoo (Bo3)

Start Time: April 16th, 02:00 AM PDT / 05:00 AM EDT / 11:00 CEST

It would be a bit risky to predict this one. TyLoo has surprised me so far and LG did came to play but were not on their top form. To top it off, GuardiaN would be playing with a rehabilitated hand but there is no question that Na’Vi is in fine shape right now. GuardiaN did play MLG with that wrist injury and even putting his sensitivity up to 5 in MLG according to s1mple. Combine it with the fact that these two haven’t faced each other yet, it just gets riskier. Na’Vi are the favorites but it seems safe to leave this game be.

Na’Vi (75%) vs. TyLoo (25%)
Na’Vi wins 2-0

Quarterfinals #2: Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Team Dignitas vs. Team EnVyUs CSGO Team Logo Team EnVyUs

Start Time: April 16th, 05:00 AM PDT / 07:00 AM EDT / 14:00 CEST

Team dignitas looked like a powerhouse team during those group stages and everyone was contributing. They showed a really strong T side and cache and overpass and didn’t skip a beat. EnVyUs, on the other hand, had a little luck with the groups by having 3 out of 4 teams playing bad CS prior to DreamHack Masters. I would love to say that EnVyUs does have the talent to potentially beat any team as history suggests but I’ve been saying that from my predictions before but they have fallen off so badly it is not worth noting anymore.

Team dignitas (75%) vs. Team EnVyUs (25%)
Team dignitas wins 2-0

Quarterfinals #3: Mousesports CSGO Team Logo Mousesports vs. Godsent CSGO Team Logo GODSENT

Start Time: April 16th, 08:00 AM PDT / 10:00 AM EDT / 17:00 CEST

These two teams have really impressed everyone so far. I’d like to note that, correct me if I am wrong, I haven’t seen NiKo play a bad game all year and is my pick for player of the year. With twist basically carrying GODSENT past the group stages, I would love to see these two carry their team and face off. It also exciting to see that ‘pronax’ is back in a major stage and also being the in-game leader for GODSENT. With how well mousesports has been doing as a unit, I would give them the edge here. I also expect to see ChrisJ step up in this game.

Mousesports (60%) vs. GODSENT (40%)
Mousesports wins 2-1

Quarterfinals #4: Ninjas in Pyjamas CSGO Team Logo Ninjas in Pyjamas vs. Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo Virtus.Pro

Start Time: April 16th, 11:00 AM PDT / 01:00 PM EDT / 20:00 CEST

Both teams have picked up the pace and are giving their huge fan base something to be cheerful about. F0rest has stepped it up for NiP and Snax for VP. These two are evenly matched and is definitely a 50-50 even with NiP having the tougher road to the playoffs. Both teams looked locked in and it all boils down to who starts off better. They both have similar play styles with VP being more unpredictable at the moment. This really looks like a coin toss match but seeing how VP has a history of being a volatile team, it might not reflect the scoreline.

Ninjas in Pyjamas (50%) vs. Virtus.pro (50%)
Ninjas in Pyjamas wins 2-1