MSI 2016 – Mid-Season Invitational | LoL MSI Shanghai 2016

Mid Season Invitational (MSI) 2016 - LogoThe Mid-Season Invitational 2016 (MSI) will be bringing together the top performing teams from the spring split from each international region. For the 2016 MSI event we’ll be heading to Shanghai which is an electric urban backdrop for the exciting, cross-regional clashes of these world class teams. The competing teams will be the spring split winners from all 5 LoL Pro Leagues: NA LCS, EU LCS, LCK and the LMS. The final additions will be made when there’s a winner of the International WildCard Invitational Tournament which will take place over April 16-23 in Mexico City. This tournament will give us a good idea of what we’re going to be seeing throughout the 2016 Summer Split and what we should be looking for with the slowly upcoming World Championship 2016.

The next Mid-Season Invitational is coming:
Read more about the MSI 2017 in Brazil

League of Legends Icon LoL Mid-Season Invitational 2016 – Facts

Betting / Live Stream
LCS Live stream Link Button
MSI 2016 Teams Overview
Betting Odds for the MSI 2016
Special bets for the MSI 2016
  • Location: Shanghai Oriental Sports Center
  • Date: 05/04/2016 – 05/15/2016
  • Teams: 6 teams (view teams overview)
  • Group Stage: Double Round Robin
  • Knockout Stage: Bo5 Single elimination bracket
  • Prize Money: $ 450,000
  • Patch: LoL 6.8 [Taric disabled]
  • Live Streams will be available for all matches.
  • Tickets: view MSI ticket info
  • Hashtag: #MSI2016
  • Betting Info: MSI 2016 Betting Overview
  • All major LoL betting sites will have betting odds

Tournament Mode | Schedule Overview – MSI 2016

MSI 2016 Date ImageAfter last year’s MSI, they wanted to change things up slightly so they decided to expand the Group Stage on May 4-8 to a double round-robin format, meaning twice as many games. After the Group Stage we move to the Best-of-5 (Bo5) Semi-finals and Finals on May 13-15. At the end of the tournament, one team will walk away with the title of MSI Champion and the lion share of the prize money!

Schedule Overview:

Group Stage: 05/04/2016 to 05/08/2016
-> MSI Group Stage – Overview
Knockout Stage (Playoffs): 05/13/2016 to 05/15/2016
-> MSI Playoffs – Predictions

League of Legends Icon Full Schedule and Results

Schedule Playoffs | Knockout Stage

Semifinals (05/13/2016 – 05/14/2016)
MSI: Grand Finals (05/15/2016)
Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up
1
SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1
3 SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1 3
vs.
CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG
3 CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG 0
Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves
1

You know who will win?

Upcoming Matches

Playoffs: Semi Final 1 | Friday, May 13th

Semi-Final #1: Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up vs. SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1      1   3  
Start Time: May 13th, 10:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 01:30 am EDT / 07:30 CEST

Playoffs: Semi Final 2 | Saturday, May 14th

Semi-Final #2: CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG vs. Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves      3   1  
Start Time: May 14h, 10:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 01:30 am EDT / 07:30 CEST

Playoffs: Grand Final | Sunday, May 15th

Grand Final: SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1 vs. CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG       3   0  
Start Time: May 15th, 10:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 01:30 am EDT / 07:30 CEST

-> MSI 2016 Playoffs – Preview and Predictions

Group Stage – Schedule and Standings

The group stage of the 2016 Mid Season Invitational is running over 5 back to back days, starting on Wednesday, May 4th. On every day 6 matches are played with every team taking to the Summoner’s Rift twice per day. As the format is a double-round robin every team has to play 10 matches before the best 4 League of Legends teams are advancing to the semifinals of the MSI. The bottom two teams in the group stage standings are eliminated from the tournament. You can find the standings and the full schedule of all matches below.

MSI GROUP-STAGE
1. Royal Never Give Up - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up
8
2. CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG
7
3. Flash Wolves - LMS team logo Flash Wolves
6
4. SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1
6
5. G2 Esports - EU LCS team Logo G2 Esports
2
6. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports
1
Advance to Playoffs-Stage
Eliminated from tournament
Standings and results of the group stage get updated live.

Results – Group Stage

Day 1: Group stage | Wednesday, May 4th
Match #1: Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up vs. CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG     1   0  
Start Time: May 4th, 11:00 pm PDT (previous day) / 02:00 am  EDT / 08:00 CEST

Match #2: G2 Esports - EU LCS Team Logo  G2 eSports vs. Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves     0   1  
Start Time: May 4th, 12:00 am (midnight)  PDT  / 03:00 am EDT / 09:00 CEST

Match #3: SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1 vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports     1   0  
Start Time: May 4th, 01:00 am PDT  / 04:00 am EDT / 10:00 CEST

Match #4: CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG vs. Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves     1   0  
Start Time: May 4th, 02:00 am PDT  / 05:00 am EDT / 11:00 CEST

Match #5: G2 Esports - EU LCS Team Logo  G2 eSports vs. SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1    0   1  
Start Time: May 4th, 03:00 am PDT  / 06:00 am EDT / 12:00 CEST

Match #6: SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports vs. Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up    0   1  
Start Time: May 4th, 04:00 am PDT  / 07:00 am EDT / 13:00 CEST

-> more about MSI Group Stage Day 1
Day 2: Group stage | Thursdays, May 5th
Match #1: CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG vs. G2 Esports - EU LCS Team Logo  G2 eSports      1   0    

Start Time: May 5th, 10:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 01:30 am EDT / 07:30 CEST

Match #2: SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1 vs. Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up    0   1  
Start Time: May 5th, 11:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 02:30 am EDT / 08:30 CEST

Match #3: Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports     1   0    
Start Time: May 5th, 00:30 am PDT  / 03:30 am EDT / 09:30 CEST

Match #4: Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up vs. G2 Esports - EU LCS Team Logo  G2 eSports     1   0    
Start Time: May 5th, 01:30 am PDT  / 04:30 am EDT / 10:30 CEST

Match #5: SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports vs. CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG     1   0  
Start Time: May 5th, 02:30 am PDT  / 05:30 am EDT / 11:30 CEST

Match #6: SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1 vs. Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves    0   1    
Start Time: May 5th, 03:30 am PDT  / 06:30 am EDT / 12:30 CEST

–> more about MSI Group Stage Day 2

Day 3: Group stage |  Friday, May 6th 

Match #1: Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves vs. Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up     0   1  
Start Time: May 6th, 10:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 01:30 am EDT / 07:30 CEST

Match #2: CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG vs. SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1     1   0  
Start Time: May 6th, 11:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 02:30 am EDT / 08:30 CEST

Match #3: SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports vs. G2 Esports - EU LCS Team Logo  G2 eSports     0   1  
Start Time: May 6th, 00:30 am PDT  / 03:30 am EDT / 09:30 CEST

Match #4: Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves vs. SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1     1   0  
Start Time: May 6th, 01:30 am PDT  / 04:30 am EDT / 10:30 CEST

Match #5: CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports     1   0  
Start Time: May 6th, 02:30 am PDT  / 05:30 am EDT / 11:30 CEST

Match #6: G2 Esports - EU LCS Team Logo  G2 eSports vs. Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up     0   1  
Start Time: May 6th, 03:30 am PDT  / 06:30 am EDT / 12:30 CEST

–> more about MSI Group Stage Day 3

Day 4: Group stage | Saturday, May 7th 

Match #1: G2 Esports - EU LCS Team Logo  G2 eSports vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports     1   0  
Start Time: May 7th, 10:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 01:30 am EDT / 07:30 CEST

Match #2: Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up vs. Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves     1   0  
Start Time: May 7th, 11:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 02:30 am EDT / 08:30 CEST

Match #3: SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1 vs. CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG     1   0  
Start Time: May 7th, 00:30 am PDT  / 03:30 am EDT / 09:30 CEST

Match #4: Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves vs. G2 Esports - EU LCS Team Logo  G2 eSports     1   0  
Start Time: May 7th, 01:30 am PDT  / 04:30 am EDT / 10:30 CEST

Match #5: CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG vs. Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up     1   0  
Start Time: May 7th, 02:30 am PDT  / 05:30 am EDT / 11:30 CEST

Match #6: SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports vs. SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1     0   1  
Start Time: May 7th, 03:30 am PDT  / 06:30 am EDT / 12:30 CEST

–>more about MSI Group Stage Day 4

Day 5: Group stage | Sunday, May 8th 

Match #1: Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up vs. SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports     1   0  
Start Time: May 8th, 08:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 11:30 pm EDT (previous day) / 05:30 CEST

Match #2: Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves vs. CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG     0   1  
Start Time: May 8th, 09:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 00:30 am EDT / 06:30 CEST

Match #3: SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1 vs. G2 Esports - EU LCS Team Logo  G2 eSports     1   0  
Start Time: May 8th, 10:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 01:30 am EDT / 07:30 CEST

Match #4: SuperMassive Esports Team Logo LoL SuperMassive eSports vs. Flash Wolves: Team Logo Flash Wolves     0   1  
Start Time: May 8th, 11:30 pm PDT (previous day) / 02:30 am EDT / 08:30 CEST

Match #5: G2 Esports - EU LCS Team Logo  G2 eSports vs. CLG - LCS NA Team Logo CLG     0   1  
Start Time: May 8th, 00:30 am PDT  / 03:30 am EDT / 09:30 CEST

Match #6: Royal Never Give - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up vs. SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1     0   1  
Start Time: May 8th, 01:30 am PDT  / 04:30 am EDT / 10:30 CEST

–> more about MSI Group Stage Day 5

League of Legends Icon Teams | Road to MSI 2016

5 of the 6 teams competing at the LoL tournament are the winners of the 2016 Spring Split (Playoffs) of the big League of Legends leagues in Europe, North America, South Korea, China and South East Asia. The last seed to MSI 2016 is determined at the International Wildcard tournament in Mexico City. The following teams have already qualified for the tournament:

  • G2 Esports - EU LCS team logo G2 Esports – Winner EU LCS Spring Split Playoffs 2016 | Region: EU LCS Logo Europe
  • CLG - NA LCS team logo CLG – Winner NA LCS Spring Split Playoffs 2016 | Region: NA LCS Logo North America
  • Royal Never Give UP - LPL team logo Royal Never Give Up – Winner LPL Spring Playoffs| Region: LPL Logo China
  • SK Telecom T1 - LCK team logo SK Telecom T1 – Winner LCK Spring Split Playoffs| Region: LCK Logo South Korea
  • Flash Wolves - LMS team logo Flash Wolves – LMS Spring Playoffs | Regions: LMS Logo Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macao
  • SupperMassive eSports - IWCI Team Logo SuperMassive eSports– Winner IWCI Mexico | Region: International Wildcard Logo Global

For a detailed MSI 2016 teams overview click here ->

Prize Money

In total $ 450,000 in prize money are paid out to the top 4 teams of the tournament. The champions of the MSI 2016 take away more than 50% of the prize pool: $ 250,000. The bottom two teams at the end of the group stage (in other words the teams on place 5 and 6) do not get any prize money at all. As there is no match for 3rd place the losers of the semi-finals will both finish on place 3/4 and get an equal share of the prize money.

Prize Money Overview:

  • 1st place:   $ 250,000
  • 2nd place: $ 100,000
  • 3rd/4th place: $ 50,000 each
  • 5th place: no prize money
  • 6th place: no prize money

Betting and Odds

All big eSports betting sites will have odds for the League of Legends MSI 2016. You can find out more about the match in odds in our preview articles. Bets on the winner will be available a couple of days, after the last team has qualified for the tournaments. Special bets on ingame events like first blood or first tower will be available at Bet365. We will keep you up to date with all relevant news and promotions available for the 2016 Mid-Season Invitational. You can take a look at the MSI outright winner betting odds and odds comparison for match betting here or check out our LoL betting overview to find out more about betting on League of Legends.

Live Stream

The MSI 2016 will be broadcasted on various live streams across different platforms (like Youtube and Twitch) and in different languages. Right here on this page you can watch the official English live stream by Riot Games (read more about the MSI casters and analysts here). In order to start watching, just click play to tune into the matches when the action is live. You can find out the starting times of the live stream broadcast by checking the schedule above. Have fun with the matches of the Mid-Season Invitational!