Hearthstone World Championship 2016



hearthstone world championship 2016 logo 1For glory, honor.. and a lot of money seasoned veterans and newcomer must rise to the challenge of the 2016 Hearthstone World Championship. The 16 best players in world clash into each other to fight for the advertised prize money of one million US-Dollars. The biggest Hearthstone tournament of the year will take place at the BlizzCon in Anaheim, California, and four players of each major region – Europe, America, China and Asia-Pacific – are ready to battle for the World Championship title. Thereby the BlizzCon is celebrating its 10-year anniversary, contemporary game developer Blizzard Entertainment is getting 25 years old in 2016 – so we look forward to a memorable event. All challengers of the Hearthstone tournament got seeded into groups of four players, the two best contenders of each group will qualify for the knockout stage of the World Championship. This year’s BlizzCon is a real delicacy for every eSports fan, besides Hearthstone there will also be exciting tournaments for Heroes of the Storm, Overwatch, World of Warcraft and Starcraft II. Furthermore each fan can win free Hearthstone packs by participating in the “Choose your Champion” event. So don’t miss to turn in on October, 26th when heroes like hunter Rexxar welcome their enemies with the all famous “Let the hunt begin”.

More information about the qualifier for the most important Hearthstone tournament can be found right here in our article about the road to the 2016 World Championship.

Hearthstone Icon Button Prize Pool Distribution

Place Prize USD Player
Gold Medal Icon Winner
$ 250,000 Pavel
Silver Medal Icon Runner Up
$ 150,500 DrHippi
Semifinalist Medal Icon
3rd-4th
$ 100,000 Che0nsu
Jasonzhou
5th-8th $ 50,000 Hamster
Amnesiac
Cydonia
HotMEOWTH
9th-12th $ 25,000 handsomeguy
Bbgungun
Yulsic
OmegaZero
13th-16th $ 25,000 ThijsNL
Naiman
Breath
DDaHyoNi

Hearthstone Icon Button Hearthstone World Championship 2016 | Facts

Betting / Livestream
Betting Odds Link ButtonLive Stream Button for Hearthstone World Championship 2016
Special bets Link Button

Hearthstone Icon Button HS WC 2016 Playoffs

Quarterfinals 

Quarterfinal #1: Jasonzhou vs. Hamster     1   0  (4/2)
Start Time: November 4th, 12:15 PM PDT / 03:15 PM EDT / 21:15 CEST

Quarterfinal #2: Amnesiac vs. Pavel     0   1  (3/4)
Start Time: November 4th, 01:30 PM PDT / 04:30 PM EDT / 22:30 CEST

Quarterfinal #3: che0nsu vs. Cydonia     1   0  (4/1)
Start Time: November 4th, 05:15 PM PDT / 08:15 PM EDT / 02:15 CEST (next day)

Quarterfinal #4: HotMEOWTH vs. DrHippi     0   1  (0/4)
Start Time: November 4th, 06:30 PM PDT / 09:30 PM EDT / 03:30 CEST (next day)

Semifinals 

Semifinal #1: Jasonzhou vs. Pavel     0   1  (2/4)
Start Time: November 5th, 10:30 AM PDT / 01:30 PM EDT / 19:30 CEST

Semifinal #2: che0nsu vs. DrHippi     0   1  (2/4)
Start Time: November 5th, 12:00 PM PDT / 03:00 PM EDT / 21:00 CEST

Grand Final 

Grand Final: Pavel vs. DrHippi     1   0  (4/2)
Start Time: November 5th, 02:00 PM PDT / 05:00 PM EDT / 23:00 CEST

Hearthstone Icon Button Hearthstone World Championship 2016 – Betting odds

As soon as our well-known online bookmakers for esports will provide betting odds for the most important Hearthstone tournament of the year you will find a comparison of all betting providers right here. Keep always in mind that all the odds shown here might have changed in the meantime. Follow the links to take a look at the latest betting odds.

Bet365 Logo2 BET365 Bet365 Logo2Hearthstone World Championship 2016 Betting Odds Bet365check current odds at Bet365 >>


BET365 INFO: Find Heartstone betting in the menu on the left: E-Sports

Pinnacle esports betting Logo Pinnacle Sports Pinnacle esports betting Logo Hearthstone World Championship betting odds Pinnacle
check current odds at Pinnacle Sports >>

Hearthstone Icon Button Participants of the Hearthstone World Championship 2016

All of the 16 participating players originate either from Europe, America, China or the Asia-Pacific region. Some well-known names can be found between the tough starting field of the tournament, especially Thijs from the Netherlands is regarded as a crowd favourite. You can find an overview of all players divided by their groups right here.

Group A
1.  JasonZhou 2-0
2.  Cydonia 2-1
3.  Handsomeguy 1-2
4.  Thijs 0-2
Schedule / Results
Group B
1.  Che0nsu 2-0
2.  Hamster 2-1
3.  Bbgungun 1-2
4.  Naiman 0-2
Schedule / Results
Group C
1.  Amnsesiac 2-0
2.  DrHippi 2-1
3.  Yulsic 1-2
4.  Breath 0-2
Schedule / Results
Group D
1.  MEOWTH 2-0
2.  Pavel
2-1
3.  OmegaZero 1-2
4.  Ddahyoni 0-2
Schedule / Results

Hearthstone Icon Button Tournament and game mode

The group stage of the 2016 Hearthstone World Championship will take place in double elimination format. Each player who has lost two games in the preliminaries will drop out of the tournament. The two most successful players of each group will qualify for the knockout stage of the World Championship whose matches will be single elimination games.

Hearthstone World Championship 2016 Format Schedule Group Stage

Each duel will be held in the Conquest format. Therefor each player had to announce 5 decks of different classes right before the start of the tournament. Prior to any match each player is allowed to ban one of the decks of his opponent which is restricted to use in the duel. To emerge victorious in the duel you have to win one game with each of your decks. An already victorious deck is not allowed to be used anymore in the ongoing competition, whereas the inferior player is allowed to switch his deck at discretion.

This year there are a lot of druid and hunter decks represented in the tournament, each player has one deck of these archetypes. While warrior, hunter and mage decks are also highly coveted, priest and paladin decks are located at the lower end. You can find the deck distribution of the 2016 Hearthstone World Championship right here.

Hearthstone World Championship 2016 Decklist Distribution

Hearthstone Icon Button “Choose your Champion” – Betting game

At this year’s “Choose your Champion” event you can choose a tournament winner right before and after the group stage. Each time this player wins a match at the 2016 Hearthstone World Championship you get a card pack from the card set “The Grand Tournament” for your Battle.net account. Because you get your first card pack simply for registration there is no downside for participating. If you choose your champion correctly you can win the maximum amount of 6 free card packs. To participate in the “Choose your Champion” betting game you only have to follow this link to the official Battle.net website of the betting game.

Hearthstone World Championship 2016 Choose Your Champion Tipping Game

Hearthstone Icon Button Schedule and Results

Group A 

Match #1: handsomeguy vs. Cydonia     0   1  (0/4)
Start Time: October 26th, 09:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM EDT / 18:00 CEST

Match #2: Jasonzhou vs. ThijsNL     1   0  (4/3)
Start Time: October 27th, 09:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM EDT / 18:00 CEST

Winners Match: Cydonia vs. Jasonzhou     0   1  (3/4)
Start Time: October 28th, 09:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM EDT / 18:00 CEST

Elimination Match: handsomeguy vs. ThijsNL     1   0  (4/3)
Start Time: October 29th, 09:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM EDT / 18:00 CEST

Decider Match: Cydonia vs. handsomeguy     1   0  (4/1)
Start Time: October 30th, 09:00 AM PDT / 12:00 PM EDT / 18:00 CEST

Group B 

Match #1: Bbgungun vs. Naiman     1   0  (4/3)
Start Time: October 26th, 10:15 AM PDT / 01:15 PM EDT / 19:15 CEST

Match #2: che0nsu vs. Hamster     1   0  (4/2)
Start Time: October 27th, 10:15 AM PDT / 01:15 PM DT / 19:15 CEST

Winners Match: Bbgungun vs. che0nsu     0   1  (2/4)
Start Time: October 28th, 10:15 AM PDT / 01:15 PM EDT / 19:15 CEST

Elimination Match: Naiman vs. Hamster     0   1  (3/4)
Start Time: October 29th, 10:15 AM PDT / 01:15 PM EDT / 19:15 CEST

Decider Match: Bbgungun vs. Hamster     0   1  (0/4)
Start Time: October 30th, 10:15 AM PDT / 01:15 PM EDT / 19:15 CEST

Group C 

Match #1: DrHippi vs. Breath     1   0  (4/3)
Start Time: October 26th, 11:30 AM PDT / 02:30 PM EDT / 20:30 CEST

Match #2: Amnesiac vs. Yulsic     1   0  (4/2)
Start Time: October 27th, 11:30 AM PDT / 02:30 PM EDT / 20:30 CEST

Winners Match: DrHippi vs. Amnesiac     0   1  (1/4)
Start Time: October 28th, 11:30 AM PDT / 02:30 PM EDT / 20:30 CEST

Elimination Match: Breath vs. Yulsic     0   1  (3/4)
Start Time: October 29th, 11:30 AM PDT / 02:30 PM EDT / 20:30 CEST

Decider Match: DrHippi vs. Yulsic     1   0  (4/2)
Start Time: October 30th, 11:30 AM PDT / 02:30 PM EDT / 20:30 CEST

Group D 

Match #1: OmegaZero vs. DDaHyoNi     1   0  (4/1)
Start Time: October 26th, 12:45 PM PDT / 03:45 PM EDT / 21:45 CEST

Match #2: Pavel vs. HotMEOWTH     0   1  (1/4)
Start Time: October 27th, 12:45 PM PDT / 03:45 PM EDT / 21:45 CEST

Winners Match: OmegaZero vs. HotMEOWTH     0   1  (3/4)
Start Time: October 28th, 12:45 PM PDT / 03:45 PM EDT / 21:45 CEST

Elimination Match: DDaHyoNi vs. Pavel     0   1  (0/4)
Start Time: October 29th, 12:45 PM PDT / 03:45 PM EDT / 21:45 CEST

Decider Match: OmegaZero vs. Pavel     0   1  (3/4)
Start Time: October 30th, 12:45 PM PDT / 03:45 PM EDT / 21:45 CEST

Hearthstone Icon Button Distribution of prize money

If you take a look at the prize pool of this year’s Hearthstone World Championship you will see that Blizzard came down handsomely. Overall there are one million US-Dollars distributed at this event. You can find the specific allocation of prize money right here in this table.

Position Prize Money
World Champion 250.000 USD
2nd Place 150.000 USD
3rd – 4th 100.000 USD
5th – 8th 50.000 USD
9th – 16th 25.000 USD

Hearthstone Icon Button Hearthstone World Championship 2016 Live Stream

As usual there will be a live stream available covering all the games of the 2016 Hearthstone World Championship. You can find the different starting times in our schedule section right above. Furthermore you have the opportunity to watch all matches right here at our website. Just press play to start the stream and tune in into the Hearthstone World Championship. Happy watching!