ESL One Frankfurt 2016 | Dota 2 Tournament Overview

ESL One Frankfurt 2016 LogoThe ESL One Frankfurt 2016 will be the tournament to complete ESL’s promise of paying $1,000,000 in Dota 2 prize money in a period of 12 months. This $250,000 tournament will feature 8 teams and it will take place in Germany within less of a week after the Manila Major, during the month of June. Even though its prize pool isn’t even close to a Major or International tournament, it’s well-known as one of the most entertaining and competitive tournaments of the year. ESL is an expert eSport group that’s been bringing these tournaments since eSports started. They’re known for their production quality and good organization, which makes this tournament one of the most waited of the year.

Dota 2 Icon ESL One Frankfurt 2016 | Facts:

Betting / Livestream
Betting Odds Link ButtonWatch the ESL One Frankfurt 2016 live stream!
Special bets Link Button
  • Date: 06/17/ – 05/19/2016
  • Location: Commerzbank-Arena. Frankfurt, Germany.
  • Prize Pool: $250,000
  • Format: Online Qualifiers – Offline Playoffs
  • 8 teams
  • Ticketing information available here.
  • You can watch the official stream here.

Dota 2 Icon Group Stage & Playoffs

The Group Stage consists of two groups of four. Each one will play in a double-elimination bracket where the top 2 teams will qualify for the Playoffs. Only 4 teams will be able to make it out of this stage.

GROUP A | Standings
1. Vega Squadron Team Logo Dota-2 Vega Squadron 2-0
2. Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Team Liquid 2-1
3. Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance 1-2
4. Fnatic Team Logo Dota2 Fnatic 0-2
Match Schedule / Results
GROUP B | Standings
1. OG Dota 2 Team Logo OG 2-0
2. Natus Vincere Team Logo Dota 2 Natus Vincere 2-1
3. compLexity Gaming Dota 2 Team Logo compLexity 1-2
4. Virtus Pro Team Logo Dota 2 Virtus.pro 0-2
Match Schedule / Results

Finally, the Playoffs will run as a single-elimination bracket. The Grand Final will be a best-of-five, the rest of the games are best-of-three.

Dota 2 Icon Schedule & Results

Group A 

Match #1: Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Team Liquid vs. Vega Squadron Team Logo Dota-2 Vega Squadron      1  :  2   
Start Time: June 17th, 01:30 AM PDT  / 04:30 AM EDT  / 10:30 CEST

Match #2: Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance vs. Fnatic Team Logo Dota2 Fnatic      2  :  1   
Start Time: June 17th, 01:30 AM PDT  / 04:30 AM EDT  / 10:30 CEST

Match #3: Vega Squadron Team Logo Dota-2 Vega Squadron vs. Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance      2  :  1   
Start Time: June 17th, 08:00 AM PDT  / 11:00 AM EDT  / 17:00 CEST

Match #4: Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Team Liquid vs. Fnatic Team Logo Dota2 Fnatic      2  :  0   
Start Time: June 18th, 01:30 AM PDT  / 04:30 AM EDT  / 10:30 CEST

Match #5: Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance vs. Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Team Liquid      0  :  2   
Start Time: June 18th, 08:00 AM PDT  / 11:00 AM EDT  / 17:00 CEST

Group B 

Match #1: OG Dota 2 Team Logo OG vs. Natus Vincere Team Logo Dota 2 Na’Vi      2  :  0   
Start Time: June 17th, 04:45 AM PDT  / 07:45 AM EDT  / 13:45 CEST

Match #2: compLexity Gaming Dota 2 Team Logo compLexity vs. Virtus Pro Team Logo Dota 2 Virtus.pro      2  :  1   
Start Time: June 17th, 04:45 AM PDT  / 07:45 AM EDT  / 13:45 CEST

Match #3: OG Dota 2 Team Logo OG vs. compLexity Gaming Dota 2 Team Logo compLexity      2  :  0   
Start Time: June 17th, 11:15 AM PDT  / 02:15 PM EDT  / 20:15 CEST

Match #4: Natus Vincere Team Logo Dota 2 Na’Vi vs. Virtus Pro Team Logo Dota 2 Virtus.pro      2  :  1   
Start Time: June 18th, 04:45 AM PDT  / 07:45 AM EDT  / 13:45 CEST

Match #5: compLexity Gaming Dota 2 Team Logo compLexity vs. Natus Vincere Team Logo Dota 2 Na’Vi      0  :  2   
Start Time: June 18th, 11:45 AM PDT  / 02:45 PM EDT  / 20:45 CEST

Semi Finals 

Semifinal #1: Vega Squadron Team Logo Dota-2 Vega Squadron vs. Natus Vincere Team Logo Dota 2 Na’Vi      0  :  2   
Start Time: June 19th, 01:30 AM PDT  / 04:30 AM EDT  / 10:30 CEST

Semifinal #2: OG Dota 2 Team Logo OG vs. Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Team Liquid      2  :  1   
Start Time: June 19th, 04:45 AM PDT  / 07:45 AM EDT  / 13:45 CEST

Grand Final 

Grand Final: OG Dota 2 Team Logo OG vs. Natus Vincere Team Logo Dota 2 Na’Vi      3  :  0   
Start Time: June 19th, 08:45 AM PDT  / 11:45 AM EDT  / 17:45 CEST

ESL Frankfurt 2016 Betting Odds

Bet365 Logo2 BET365 Bet365 Logo2Outright winner betting odds ESL One Frankfurt bet365Match winner betting odds ESL One Frankfurt bet365
bet365 esports betting bannerBET365 INFO: Find Dota 2 betting in the menu on the left: E-Sports

<< back to Dota 2 betting overview

Dota 2 Icon ESL Frankfurt 2016 | Invited Dota 2Teams:

Most tournaments like to cover half its spots with direct invites. However, ESL doesn’t give out many invites. Just like past year, they gave 3 invites and ran qualifications for the rest of the spots. These invites were given to other premium tournament winners.

Alliance was the first team to get invited. It was revealed in April 2016 that they were the first team to attend ESL One Frankfurt 2016 thanks to their victories in WCA 2015 and Star Ladder Season 13 & i-League Season 4.

A couple of days later, OG was revealed as the second invited team. The reason was their performance in the first Major tournament, The Frankfurt Major 2015 held in November 2015. Their impressive run from starting in the Lower Bracket to taking the entire tournament was something never seen before, so ESL decided to invite them despite their 7th-8th place in the Shanghai Major 2016.

Lastly, the last invite went to the Shanghai Major 2016 vice champions, Team Liquid. Even though Team Secret was the winner in that tournament, their roster change just hours later was probably enough for ESL not to consider them. Team Liquid has shown impressive performance in the tournaments following the Shanghai Major; they secured a second place in ESL One Manila and won EPICENTER. Right now they stand as one of the ESL One Frankurt 2016 favorites.

Dota 2 Icon ESL One Frankfurt 2016 | Qualifiers:

The Qualifiers for ESL One Frankfurt 2016 were run as single-elimination brackets, except the European Qualifier, which was a double-elimination bracket where the top 2 teams qualified for the tournament.

These are all the teams that made it:

  • Americas: compLexity Gaming Dota 2 Team Logo complexity
  • China: LGD Team Logo Dota2 LGD Gaming (The original winner of the Chinese qualifier, LGD Gaming, were unable to attend due to health reasons. They were replaced by Virtus Pro Team Logo Dota 2 Virtus.pro)
  • Europe: Natus Vincere Team Logo Dota 2 Na’Vi, Vega Squadron Team Logo Dota-2 Vega Squadron
  • SEA: Fnatic Team Logo Dota2 Fnatic

Even though there was an Open Qualifier where amateur teams of each region were given the opportunity to participate in the Regionals, there was an important advantage given to Tier 1 teams. While Tier 2 and the Open Bracket teams had to start from Round 1, Tier 1 teams started from the Quarter Finals. Even though some amateur teams made it as far as round 12 and up to the Quarter Finals, Tier 1 teams ended taking the Regionals.

Dota 2 Icon Main Event and Schedule

This event will be a two-phase tournament, as it’s usual. First there will be a Group Stage where the bottom 4 teams will be eliminated; the rest will go to the Playoffs.

Games will start at 10:30 CEST for each day:

  • Group A will play on Friday June 17
  • Group B will play on Saturday June 18
  • The Playoffs will be held the 19th of June.

Live Streaming ESL ONE Frankfurt