EPICENTER 2016 | Dota 2 Tournament Overview

EPICENTER Dota 2 Tournament LogoFrom May 9 to the 15th a new tournament takes place in Moscow, Russia. The first season of EPICENTER features a $500,000 prize fund. This tournament will feature the very best teams in the world in several stages that will include a Wild Card LAN tournament with a GSL group format, a Group Stage and a double-elimination bracket for the Playoffs. This means that this is one of the longest tournaments we will see this year. It also has a very similar format compared to The International from Valve.

EPICENTER| Facts:

Betting Odds Shanghai Major 2016 Button
Live-Stream Button
Special bets Link Button

Dota 2 | EPICENTER| Teams:

While this tournament will feature more invited teams, two qualified teams will have an opportunity to participate in the tournament.  Four Qualifiers were held, one for each of the following regions: Americas, Europe, China and Southeast Asia. And while there were four qualified teams, only two will finally go to the Playoffs.

These four teams will play in a LAN Wild Card GSL group format; the best two will go to the Group Stage of the tournament.

Here are the 8 participating teams:

  • 6 Invited
    • Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance
    • Evil Genius Team Logo Dota 2 Evil Geniuses
    • OG Team Logo Dota 2 OG
    • Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Team Liquid
    • Team Secret Logo Dota 2 Team Secret
    • Virtus Pro Team Logo Dota 2 Virtus.Pro
  • 4 Wild Card teams (only two of them will qualify to the Group Stage):
    • Europe: No Diggity Team Dota 2 Logo No Diggity
    • Americas: CompLexity Team Logo Dota2 CompLexity
    • SEA: Fnatic Team Logo Dota2 Fnatic
    • China: Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee

EPICENTER | Group Play:

The 8 teams will be split into two groups. The best two teams of each group will start from the Upper Bracket during the Playoffs, whereas the rest will start in the Lower Bracket. The format for this stage is a GSL system. All matches will be best-of-three series.

The teams that manage to finish at least top 2 in this group stage will have a much higher chance of winning this tournament. The losers of this stage will have to play at least two more matches than the winners, and they won’t get another chance if they lose any of them. This is why the Group Play stage is important although no team will drop out here.

GROUP A
1. Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Team Liquid 2-0
2. OG Team Logo Dota 2 OG 2-1
3. Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance 1-2
4. CompLexity Team Logo Dota2 compLexity Gaming 0-2
Match Schedule / Results
GROUP B
1. Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee 2-0
2. Evil Genius Team Logo Dota 2 Evil Geniuses 2-1
3. Virtus Pro Team Logo Dota 2 Virtus.Pro 1-2
4. Team Secret Logo Dota 2 Team Secret 0-2
Match Schedule / Results

Epicenter Betting Odds – Winner’s Match

Bet365 Logo2 BET365 Bet365 Logo2

Winners Match Liquid vs OG-Epicenter Betting Odds on Bet365 check current odds at Bet365 >>
BET365 INFO: Find Dota 2 betting in the menu on the left: E-Sports

bet at home logo Bet-at-Home bet at home logo
Match Winner Day 1 Epicenter Betting Odds on Bet at Home
check current odds at Bet-at-Home >>
Bet-at-Home Info: Find Dota2 betting in the menu on the left: All sports > E-Sport

EPICENTER | Schedule:

Group A 

Match #1: OG Team Logo Dota 2 OG vs. Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance   2   0  
Start Time: May 10th, 12:00 AM PDT  / 03:00 AM EDT  / 09:00 CEST

Match #2: Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Liquid vs. CompLexity Team Logo Dota2 compLexity   2   1  
Start Time: May 10th, 04:00 AM PDT  / 07:00 AM EDT  / 13:00 CEST

Match #3: OG Team Logo Dota 2 OG vs. Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Liquid   1    
Start Time: May 10th, 08:00 AM PDT  / 11:00 AM EDT  / 17:00 CEST

Match #4: Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance vs. CompLexity Team Logo Dota2 compLexity   2   0  
Start Time: May 11th, 12:00 AM PDT  / 03:00 AM EDT  / 21:00 CEST

Match #5: OG Team Logo Dota 2 OG vs. Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance   2   0  
Start Time: May 11th, 08:00 AM PDT  / 11:00 AM EDT  / 17:00 CEST

Group B 

Match #1: Evil Genius Team Logo Dota 2 Evil Geniuses vs. Virtus Pro Team Logo Dota 2 Virtus.pro   2   0  
Start Time: May 10th, 12:00 AM PDT  / 03:00 AM EDT  / 09:00 CEST

Match #2: Team Secret Logo Dota 2 Team Secret vs. Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee   0   2  
Start Time: May 10th, 04:00 AM PDT  / 07:00 AM EDT  / 13:00 CEST

Match #3: Evil Genius Team Logo Dota 2 Evil Geniuses vs. Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee   0    
Start Time: May 10th, 12:00 PM PDT  / 03:00 PM EDT  / 21:00 CEST

Match #4: Virtus Pro Team Logo Dota 2 Virtus.pro vs. Team Secret Logo Dota 2 Team Secret   2   1  
Start Time: May 11th, 04:00 AM PDT  / 07:00 AM EDT  / 13:00 CEST

Match #5: Evil Genius Team Logo Dota 2 Evil Geniuses vs. Virtus Pro Team Logo Dota 2 Virtus.pro   2   1  
Start Time: May 11th, 12:00 PM PDT  / 03:00 PM EDT  / 21:00 CEST

Playoffs:

The double-elimination bracket of these playoffs will feature best-of-three series, except for the finals, which are best-of-five. The team starting from the Upper Bracket that is able to win two series in a row will already find themselves in the Grand Finals. This means that the winner that gets to the Grand Finals without losing any match will be well-rested, but this is the only advantage they will get by going straight to the finals.

Winner’s Semifinals 

Semi-Final #1: Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Liquid vs. Evil Genius Team Logo Dota 2 Evil Geniuses   2    
Start Time: May 12th, 05:00 AM PDT  / 08:00 AM EDT  / 14:00 CEST

Semi-Final #2: Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee vs. OG Team Logo Dota 2 OG   1    
Start Time: May 12th, 09:00 AM PDT  / 12:00 PM EDT  / 18:00 CEST

Winner’s Finals 

Winner’s Finals: OG Team Logo Dota 2 OG vs. Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Liquid   0   2  
Start Time: May 14th, 09:00 AM PDT  / 12:00 PM EDT  / 18:00 CEST

Loser’s Rounds 

Round 1 – Match #1: Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance vs. Team Secret Logo Dota 2 Team Secret   2    
Start Time: May 13th, 01:00 AM PDT  / 04:00 AM EDT  / 10:00 CEST

Round 1 – Match #2: Virtus Pro Team Logo Dota 2 Virtus.pro vs. CompLexity Team Logo Dota2 compLexity   1    
Start Time: May 13th, 05:00 AM PDT  / 08:00 AM EDT  / 14:00 CEST

Round 2 – Match #1: Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee vs.Alliance Team Logo Dota 2 Alliance   2   1  
Start Time: May 13th, 09:00 AM PDT  / 12:00 PM EDT  / 18:00 CEST

Round 2 – Match #2: Evil Genius Team Logo Dota 2 Evil Geniuses vs. CompLexity Team Logo Dota2 compLexity   0   2  
Start Time: May 14th, 01:00 AM PDT  / 04:00 AM EDT  / 10:00 CEST

Round 3 – Match #1: Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee vs. CompLexity Team Logo Dota2 compLexity   2    
Start Time: May 14th, 05:00 AM PDT  / 08:00 AM EDT  / 14:00 CEST

Loser’s Finals 

Loser’s Finals: OG Team Logo Dota 2 OG vs. Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee   1    
Start Time: May 15th, 01:00 AM PDT  / 04:00 AM EDT  / 10:00 CEST

Grand Final 

Grand Final: Team Liquid Logo Dota2 Liquid vs. Newbee Team Logo Dota2 Newbee   3    
Start Time: May 15th, 05:00 AM PDT  / 08:00 AM EDT  / 14:00 CEST

The EPICENTER 2016 Livestream

You might also be interested in: