Dreamhack ZOWIE Open Bucharest 2016

DreamHack Bucharest 2016 - Zowie OpenIf you did not know, Dreamhack is, by far, the largest digital festival that gathers tech people from all around the world. Besides live concerts, digital art, cosplay competitions and similar stuff, one of the key aspects of every Dreamhack are eSports competitions. The teams are top tier and the stakes are high… What more do you need for a proper eSports spectacle? This year, many games will be featured, but the one we are interested the most about is surely Counter

This year, many games will be featured, but the one we are interested the most about is surely Counter Srike: Global Offensive. Unfortunately, as you can see in the TEAMS section down below, many of the best teams have not been invited to the main tournament, but despite that – DreamHack has a certain “gaming glamour” to it, which is why I am sure it is going to be an real gaming spectacle.

Counter Strike GO Icon DreamHack Bucharest 2016 | Facts

Betting / Livestream
Betting Odds Link ButtonLive Stream Button for the DreamHack Bucharest 2016
Special bets Link Button
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania
  • Organizer: DreamHack
  • Date: 09/16/ – 09/18/2016
  • Game: Counter Strike: Global Offensive
  • Venue: Polyvalent Hall
  • Format: Group Stage (Bo1 + Bo3). The top 4 teams will be playing in the Playoffs in a Single-Elimination Bracket (Bo3)
  • Prize Pool: $100,000
  • Map pool: Cache, Cobblestone, Dust2, Nuke, Mirage, Train, Overpass

Counter Strike GO Icon Prize Pool

As with every other DreamHack stop, Bucharest also has a total prize pool of $100,000. This amount is going to be divided to the top placed teams in the following fashion:

Place $ USD Team
Gold Medal1. $50,000 Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo Virtus.pro
Silver Medal2. $20,000 Cloud9 CSGO Team Logo Cloud9
Semifinalits-Icon3. – 4. $10,000 Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Team Dignitas
Team EnvVyUs CSGO Team Logo Team EnVyUs
5. – 6. $3,000 Heroic CSGO Team Logo Heroic
FaZe Clan CSGO Team Logo FaZe Clan
7. – 8. $2,000 Gambit Gaming CSGO Team Logo Gambit Gaming
FlipSid3 Tactics CSGO Team Logo FlipSid3 Tactics

Counter Strike GO Icon Group and Standings

GROUP A
1. Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo Virtus.pro 2-0
2. Team EnvVyUs CSGO Team Logo Team EnVyUs 2-1
3. Heroic CSGO Team Logo Heroic 1-2
4. Gambit Gaming CSGO Team Logo Gambit Gaming 0-2
Schedule / Results
GROUP B
1. Cloud9 CSGO Team Logo Cloud9 2-0
2. Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Dignitas 2-1
3. FaZe Clan CSGO Team Logo FaZe Clan 1-2
4. FlipSid3 Tactics CSGO Team Logo FlipSid3 Tactics 0-2
Schedule / Results

Counter Strike GO Icon Teams and Players

A total of 8 teams will be participating in the main event. 6 of them were invited directly to this competition while the remaining 2 earned their spot in the closed qualifications. Below you can find the list of teams sorted by the way they got to the main tournament.

Invited

  • Cloud9 CSGO Team Logo Cloud9: n0thing, shroud, Skadoodle, Stewie2k, automatic
  • Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Team Dignitas: MSL, k0nfig, RUBINO, cajunb, Magiskb0Y
  • Team EnvVyUs CSGO Team Logo Team EnVyUs: Happy, NBK, apEX, kennyS, DEVIL
  • FaZe Clan CSGO Team Logo FaZe Clan: rain, jkaem, aizy, kioShiMa, allu
  • FlipSid3 Tactics CSGO Team Logo FlipSid3 Tactics: B1ad3, markeloff, WorldEdit, Shara, wayLander
  • Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo Virtus.pro: TaZ, neo, paszabiceps, Snax, byali

Qualified

  • Heroic CSGO Team Logo Heroic: Friis, MODDII, gla1ve, valde, Snappi
  • Gambit Gaming CSGO Team Logo Gambit Gaming: hooch, Dosia, AdreN, mou, spaze

Counter Strike GO Icon Betting Odds Comparison

At the time of writing this article, there is still a lot of time ahead of us before the DreamHack Bucharest 2016 starts. Because of this, it is not surprising that there are no bets currently available at any online esports betting sites. This part of the article is going to be updated when esports betting sites begin adding matches of this tournament in their markets.

Bet365 Logo2 BET365 Bet365 Logo2
check current odds at Bet366 >>

BET365 INFO: Find CS:GO betting in the menu on the left: E-Sports

Counter Strike GO Icon Schedule and Results

Dreamhack Bucharest ZOWIE Open 2016 is yet another stop of Dreamhack world series. As you already may know, it starts on Friday the 16th of September. Its respective end will be after the grand finals match on Sunday the 18th of September. During these 3 days, top class teams will be competing against each other to win the grand prize of $100,000.

Let’s take a look at the official format of the tournament to see how will the teams match up against each other:

Group stage matches

  • A total of 8 teams will be competing, divided in 2 groups – Group A and B.
  • Double elimination matches throughout the entire group stage will be played in a best of 1 fashion while the group finals will be played in a best of 3 fashion.

Playoffs

  • Only the top two teams from each of the groups will advance to the playoffs.
  • Playoffs matches (both semifinals and grand finals) will be played in the great Polyvalent Hall that is located in Bucharest, the capital of Romania.
  • We are set for a fantastic eSport even with lots of quality matches, but surely with a couple of real surprises here and there.

Group A

Match #1: Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo VP vs. Gambit Gaming CSGO Team Logo Gambit     1   0  (16/12
Start Time: September 16th, 05:00 AM PDT / 08:00 AM EDT / 14:00 CEST

Match #2: Heroic CSGO Team Logo Heroic vs. Team EnvVyUs CSGO Team Logo nV     1   0  (34/31
Start Time: September 16th, 08:00 AM PDT / 11:30 AM EDT / 17:00 CEST

Match #3: Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo VP vs. Heroic CSGO Team Logo Heroic     1   0  (16/6
Start Time: September 16th, 11:00 AM PDT / 02:00 PM EDT / 20:00 CEST

Match #4: Gambit Gaming CSGO Team Logo Gambit vs. Team EnvVyUs CSGO Team Logo nV     0   2  (14/16) | (7/16) 
Start Time: September 17th, 12:20 AM PDT / 03:20 AM EDT / 09:00 CEST

Match #5: Heroic CSGO Team Logo Heroic vs. Team EnvVyUs CSGO Team Logo nV     1   2  (8/16) | (16/13) | (9/16) 
Start Time: September 17th, 06:20 AM PDT / 09:20 AM EDT / 15:20 CEST

Group B

Match #1: Cloud9 CSGO Team Logo C9 vs. FlipSid3 Tactics CSGO Team Logo F3     1   0  (16/4
Start Time: September 16th, 06:30 AM PDT / 09:30 AM EDT / 15:30 CEST

Match #2: Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Dig vs. FaZe Clan CSGO Team Logo FaZe     0   1  (11/16
Start Time: September 16th, 09:30 PM PDT / 12:30 PM EDT / 18:30 CEST

Match #3: Cloud9 CSGO Team Logo C9 vs. FaZe Clan CSGO Team Logo FaZe     1   0  (16/8
Start Time: September 16th, 12:30 PM PDT / 03:30 PM EDT / 21:30 CEST

Match #4: FlipSid3 Tactics CSGO Team Logo F3 vs. Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Dig     1   2  (7/16) | (16/9) | (6/16) 
Start Time: September 17th, 09:20 AM PDT / 12:20 PM EDT / 18:20 CEST

Match #5: FaZe Clan CSGO Team Logo FaZe vs. Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Dig     0   2  (7/16) | (6/16) 
Start Time: September 17th, 08:30 PM PDT / 11:30 PM EDT / 05:30 CEST

Semi-finals

Semi-finals #1: Cloud9 CSGO Team Logo C9 vs. Team EnvVyUs CSGO Team Logo nV     2   1  (16/9) | (10/16) | (16/10
Start Time: September 18th, 12:30 AM PDT / 03:30 AM EDT / 08:30 CEST

Semi-finals #2: Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo VP vs. Team Dignitas CSGO Team Logo Dig     2   1  (16/4) | (14/16) | (16/13
Start Time: September 18th, 04:00 AM PDT / 07:00 AM EDT / 13:00 CEST

Grand Finals

Grand Finals: Cloud9 CSGO Team Logo C9 vs. Team Virtus Pro CSGO Team Logo VP     0   2  (9/16) | (9/16) 
Start Time: September 18th, 08:30 AM PDT / 11:30 AM EDT / 17:30 CEST

Counter Strike GO Icon Livestream

As always, DreamHack events are going to have full live coverage across video streaming services. The most popular video streaming service for gamers, Twitch.tv, is going to do live broadcasts of the entire DreamHack Bucharest event.